LibGuides: Marketing: Home

Financial Times - FT.com

The Financial Times is a UK-based news organisation which offers news articles, reports, opinion and data on international business & finance topics. Access to the FT.com is available to all our Business School students and staff.

You will need to register through Brightspace. Log in and click on the FT icon on the homepage, then sign up using your University email address.

For step-by-step instructions see the written or video guide below.

Accessing FT.com

Quick Links

Summon
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Brightspace Induction Resource
Guide to Library and IT services, in the University-wide induction resource for new students.
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Overview of key resources

Below are some specialist resources for marketing. Find out more about what they can be used for, and how to use them, in the relevant tabs on this guide.

Journal databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A Full text business database, covering management, marketing, finance, accounting, economics and international business.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, research reports, and downloadable data
Accessibility Statement
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Accessibility Statement

Market research, company & financial databases

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel & tourism.
Accessibility Statement
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers easy-to-search statistics and reports on a wide range of topics including: digital & trends; society; consumers; brands; industries; markets; companies
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, analysis, and reports on global markets, economies, and consumers.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Expert industry market research reports, statistics, analysis, data, trends and forecasts from the UK, US, China, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Mexico, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Italy, France, Pan-EU and Global.
Accessibility Statement
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, this database provides access to company profiles and SWOT analyses.
BRAD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Advertising data covering over 14,000 UK media titles. Includes circulation figures and advertising rates.
FAME This link opens in a new window
Provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the UK and Republic of Ireland. Plus, company contact details, brand names, no. of employees, and names of directors.

Please note: FAME is licenced for education, teaching, tuition, training, instruction, learning, private study and/or research only. Use for university business processes (including Business Development, Marketing and Alumni Offices) are prohibited.
Accessibility Statement
Orbis VL This link opens in a new window
Orbis is Bureau van Dijk ’s global database which has information on over 450 million public and private companies including, banks, vessels, insurance, and industrial companies covering 220+ countries.

It is a tool that specialises in private company data, containing active and inactive companies with up to ten years of financial data available.
Accessibility Statement
Our subscription provides data on very large companies (VL), defined as follows:
• operating revenue >= $130 million US (100 million EUR)
• total assets >= $260 million US (200 million EUR)
• number of employees >= 1000

News sources

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to recent and historical global newspapers.

Financial Times - FT.com
See our guide to registering for your FT.com online account in the box on the left.

Marketing skills

Marketing Mentor This link opens in a new window
Searchable Marketing Communications, Strategic and Practical marketing guidance - use to achieve your academic potential and advance your career in Marketing.

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is an archive of free-to-air TV and radio programmes available to you through the University of Huddersfield Library subscription. You can choose to watch previously recorded programmes, request future programmes and save lists of programmes for your learning, teaching or research.

Click on the tabs above for a series of instructional videos to take you through the basics of using Box of Broadcasts.

Box of Broadcasts promotion poster http://hud.ac/hpj

Click on this link to go direct to BoB. You can also access it from the A-Z list of electronic resources, and find BoB under the letter B.

You will be prompted to log in with your University login and password. The first time you access BoB, it will ask you to register your university email address (undergraduates and postgraduate taught students = u1234567@unimail.hud.ac.uk). You will need to confirm your address by checking your email and clicking on the link provided.

Here's a useful video from Learning on Demand who run Box of Broadcasts.

This short video shows you how to request TV and radio programmes to be recorded.

Box of Broadcasts provides extensive help on their website:

Frequently asked questions

How to use BoB videos

If you have any further questions, contact your Subject Librarian at the Help Centre on Floor 4 of the Library or email library@hud.ac.uk and we will be happy to help.

Student watching video on phone

Subject Guide

Laura Broadbent

Email Me

Contact:

library@hud.ac.uk

Subjects I support:
Business, Management, Marketing, Travel & Tourism, Hospitality, Events management, HRM.

Subjects: Business

Study Skills from Marketing Mentor

Study Skills from Marketing Mentor
The study skills section of this useful, easy-to-use resource contains advice on academic and report writing, presentation skills, dissertations and more. Suitable for students on all Business School courses.

Subject guides

Marketing: Home

Introduction