LibGuides: Costume: Costume resources

Quick Links

Summon
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Brightspace Induction Resource
Guide to Library and IT services, in the University-wide induction resource for new students.
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Costume Resources

All Sew Up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and CostumeSTUME
Digital collection of historic costume books from the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center

Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including architecture, interior design, contemporary art, and photography.
Accessibility Statement
- Art, Design and Architecture Collection search samples
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of professionally filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, and educational materials related to theatre, dance, and the performing arts. With a diverse range of classical plays, contemporary works, musicals, and dance performances from around the world, users can immerse themselves in the captivating world of live theatre through the platform's high-quality recordings.
Accessibility Statement
Training videos for Students
Fashion and Race Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Fashion and Race and Database™ provides a roadmap for lasting change in the fashion system, as it offers lessons and resources that diversify how we understand fashion. The database is an invaluable platform for those who agree that it’s time to challenge dominant narratives and harmful practices in fashion. Please ensure you use your University email address when registering.
Accessibility Statement
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 60,000 journal articles, books, and dissertation abstracts covering various aspects of theatre and performance.
Accessibility Statement
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Accessibility Statement
Medieval Clothing and Textiles This link opens in a new window
Access to the entire catalogue of Boydell & Brewer's market leading interdisciplinary Medieval Clothing and Textiles annuals, which includes multiple examinations of specific clothing items – from wimples and tippets, to hoopskirts, capes, and headdresses. As well as studies in the weaving, embroidering, and exporting of clothing and textiles around Medieval Europe
Textile Technology Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With content dating back to the early 20th century, this database covers UK and International research from the scientific community, as well as the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
Accessibility Statement
WGSN This link opens in a new window
WGSN is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries.
World Textile Information Network (WTIN) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides information on manufacturing technology, environment and ethics, textile markets, finance, companies, and events.
Accessibility Statement

Bloomsbury digital fashion and costume collections

Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window
The first comprehensive online collection for the interdisciplinary study of dress and costume history, design and making, and offers an indispensable scholarly and educational resource to support the study of dress history, costume studies and costume design.
Accessibility Statement
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. Interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content, it is invaluable for researchers in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.
Accessibility Statement
Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
An essential resource covering the entire range of fashion education from the creative to corporate, Fairchild Books Library offers content that covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.
Accessibility Statement

Image Databases / Collections

These resources are databases or image libraries specialising in images for arts and culture. They pull together content from a wide range of museum and archive collections, meaning you can search lots of collections in one place.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, and humanities.

Europeana
The mage collection on Europeana comes from galleries, libraries, archives and museums from all over Europe. Collections include art and fashion.
Google Arts & Culture
Searchable archive of thousands of fashion collections from around the world. Visual and interactive content, exploring the stories behind clothes, fashion and it's place in history.

Collections hosted by museums, galleries and other organisations

These are links to individual collections held by museums, galleries and other organisations.

British Pathe - Vintage Fashions
Vintage fashion video collection from British Pathe
The John Bright Collection
Digital archive of orginial garments from the collections of costume designer John Bright.
Kyoto Costume Institute
Digital archive of collections at the Kyoto Costume Insititute ranging from 17th century to the present day.
MIT Global Shakespeares
Video and production archive of global Shakespeare.
National Museums Scotland
Explore digital collections from the National Museums Scotland (not all items have images but many do)
V&A images
V&A Images is the versatile picture agency of the V&A with an ever-expanding collection including the Theatre Collections, Museum of Childhood and the National Art Library.