LibGuides: Geography: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the subject guide for Geography, covering both the human and physical strands.Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support

Where to find Geography books

Geography is a fascinating and multi-disciplinary subject so be prepared to explore most of the Library floors to find your books.

Here's a few locations and classmarks to get you started:

Floor 6 for sociological, economical, political and cultural geographies: 300-330s

Floor 5 for biological, ecological, geological and environmental geographies: 500s

Floor 2 for introductory texts / overviews of geographies: 910s

Recent book purchases

These titles have recently been added to the University of Huddersfield library collection:

Beyond gender by Greta Olson, Mirjam Horn-Schott, Daniel Hartley & Regina Leonie Schmidt (Eds)
ISBN: 9781317214557
Physical geography: The basics by Joseph Holden
Call Number: 577.82 MIT
ISBN: 9781003124405
Publication Date: 2021

Nature

Nature is ranked as the most highly cited interdisciplinary scientific journal in the world. Articles published in Nature from 1997 onwards are available via Summon, but if you want to access the most recent issue you should visit the Nature website.

Either browse content by date of publication, or use the 'advanced search' to ensure you are viewing articles which appear in Nature (we don't subscribe to the other titles from Nature Publishing Group)

Printed volumes of Nature (from 1895-2006) are available in the rolling shelves on floor 5 of the Library.

Specialist resources

Add to the results you've identified on Summon by using these specialist resources to find quality journal articles, books and conference papers for your assignments. The following resources provide details of sources (usually including an abstract) and in some cases may also provide a link to the full-text.

For a full list of University of Huddersfield subscriptions see our A-Z list of electronic resources.

For a list of the journals we have full-text access to see our A-Z list of journals.

Greenfile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Accessibility Statement
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Accessibility Statement
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel & tourism.
Accessibility Statement
PubMed This link opens in a new window
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.

Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Accessibility Statement
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Accessibility Statement
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. This collection covers 1980 to 2012.
Accessibility Statement

Maps

Digimap provides our main mapping collection and contains a wide range of datasets.

Digimap This link opens in a new window
Digimap delivers Ordnance Survey maps and geospatial data, available either via download facilities for use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online. The mapping tool (Roam) allows users to view and print maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales as well as enabling the user to specify a map scale, area and content.

In order to access the site, you will need to register an account, using the 'Register' button at the top right of the screen.

Instructions are available here.

The Digimap YouTube channel has lots of tutorials and demonstrations.

Data centres

Centre for Environmental Data Analysis (CEDA)
Includes access to the CEDA Archive on the atmospheric and earth observation data centre functions, IPCC Data Distribution Centre on climate, socio-economic and environmental data, and the UK Solar System Data Centre (UKSSDC) which curates and provides access to archives of data from the upper atmosphere, ionosphere and Earth's solar environment.
British Oceanographic Data Centre (BODA)
Processes, archives and distributes biological, chemical, physical and geophysical marine data.
European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) Reanalysis v5 (ERA5)
ERA5 is the fifth generation ECMWF atmospheric reanalysis of the global climate covering the period from January 1940 to present. ERA5 is produced by the Copernicus Climate Change Service (C3S) at ECMWF. ERA5 provides hourly estimates of a large number of atmospheric, land and oceanic climate variables.
ESA Open Hub
The Copernicus Open Access Hub (previously known as Sentinels Scientific Data Hub) provides complete, free and open access to Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2 and Sentinel-3 user products, starting from the In-Orbit Commissioning Review (IOCR).
US Geological Survey (USGS) Earth Explorer
Search, download, and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products. In addition to data from the Landsat missions and a variety of other data providers, EE provides access to MODIS land data products from the NASA Terra and Aqua missions, and ASTER level-1B data products over the U.S. and Territories from the NASA ASTER mission. Registered users of EE have access to more features than guest users.
NASA Earth data
This application allows you to search, discover, visualize, refine, and access NASA Earth Observation data

Subject Guide

Zoë Johnson

Email Me

Contact:

library@hud.ac.uk

Subjects: Applied Sciences, Arts and Humanities

Quick Links

Summon
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Brightspace Induction Resource
Guide to Library and IT services, in the University-wide induction resource for new students.
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Subject guides

Geography: Home