LibGuides: Mechanical and Automotive Engineering: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for Mechanical and Automotive Engineering. Here you will find the key databases to use for your subject, along with links to other useful information, such as market research and the latest industry news. Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.

Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help, and please let us know if there are any key resources you think should be added to this guide.

Library Computer Software

Adobe and Microsoft programmes are installed on all library computers as standard. Some specialist software is also available. For a full list, please see the library's website: What software is in the Library?

Key Resources

The main way to search for books, journal articles and more is by using Summon. However sometimes you may need to use more specialist resources for your studies, particularly for final year projects, research and dissertations.

Use the links below to access specialist information for your subject area - these resources may be harder to find via Summon, and Google won't find them at all!

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel contains full-text ebooks and conference proceedings, as well as other technical reference tools such as worksheets and interactive graphs.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
BSOL is the platform for accessing British Standards. As well as UK national standards, BSOL includes European and International standards adopted by the UK, jointly developed standards, and publicly available standards.
HudHelp: Guidance for accessing Standards in British Standards Online (BSOL)

POST research and briefings
The Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) produces impartial, non-partisan, and peer-reviewed briefings, designed to make scientific research accessible to the UK Parliament. Their research notes and briefing papers are all freely available to the public.
The Conversation
An independent news site that looks at the research behind current news topics. Excellent coverage of Science & Technology topics.

Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Free search for patents from 90+ countries worldwide.

IPO Designs Search
Search for a design registered with the UK Intellectual Property Office

Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering building regulations, legislation, technical reports, and sustainability issues.
Accessibility Statement
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Click on "Engineering" under "Browse journals and books" to see specific Engineering titles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains thousands of online journals and book chapters, including many Engineering titles. Click your subject of interest under "Browse publications by subject", or use the search box at the top.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in the fields of science and technology, as well as medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

NASA Research
Free, online access to research funded by NASA [US National Aeronautics and Space Administration]
NASA Technical Reports Server
Technical papers on air and space research from NASA

Use the links below for news and opinions on the mechanical and automotive industries, aimed at industry professionals.

Automotive Engineering
Industry and business news from the automotive market.
Engineer Live
The Engineer
Engineering Technology
Engineering News from IHS Engineering 360
Engineering and scientific news from over 600 sources
Industrial Engineering News
Latest news from the industrial engineering industry
Institution of Mechanical Engineers
The IMechE is the professional body for mechanical engineers. It's website contains news, features and analysis on the engineering industry.
The Rail Engineer
News and features on the rail industry.
Science Daily: Engineering News
The latest research news in engineering.

Market research, from reputable sources, is usually not freely available. We subscribe to several sources of market information which are available through the links below. These can be useful for researching the market for engineering applications.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
NEW!! Market research reports on industries including manufacturing, precision engineering, and 3D printing.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, energy, retail, and travel & tourism. Provides information such as market sizes, trends, and segmentation.
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW!! Numbers, data and facts on a wide range of topics.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, Business Source Complete also provides access to industry profiles and market research reports.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Marketing reports for markets worldwide, that provide statistical data on products, brands, industries, consumers, and countries.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the U.K. & Republic of Ireland. Provides other company data including: contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Newspapers by ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search local, national and international newspapers, business press, and trade publications.

These online resources are useful sources of information on energy policy, energy sources, and renewable energy

International Energy Agency
The IEA is an inter-governmental organisation that produces research and guidance on the international oil market and other energy sectors, including renewable energy.
Energy Watch Group
The Energy Watch Group (EWG) is a coalition of scientists and politicians produces research on global energy developments concerning both fossil fuels and renewables.
Energy Policy resource library
The Energy resource library aggregates and indexes more than 4,000 publicly available reports, white papers, studies, journal articles, and other materials. It continues to expand every week.

Topics include: Biofuels, Climate Change, Coal, Electric Vehicles, Energy Efficiency, Energy Security, Environment, Hydropower, Legislation, Natural Gas, Nuclear, Oil, Regulation, Solar, Technology, Wind and more.

Finding Open Access research online

Below are some useful tools for finding Open Access research papers outside of Summon.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's search tool that allows you to find published research papers. Some of these will be open access, but for any that are paywalled, you can enable "Library Links" to get direct access via the University of Huddersfield's subscriptions.
Google Scholar Library Links screencast
Short screencast video showing how to enable Library Links in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar tips
Instructions on setting up Library Links in Google Scholar, and tips on getting the most out of Google Scholar.

Unpaywall
Browser plug-in that helps you find free, open access versions of academic papers that are behind paywalls.
LibKey Nomad
Browser plugin that finds versions of academic papers within your University library subscriptions.
EThOS: e-theses online service
Doctoral theses from almost all UK higher education institutions.
Core: Open Access research papers
Core is a dedicated search engine that searches only open access research papers.
Inter-Library Loans
If you need a paper that is not available through the Library, and you can't find a free version via any of the above sources, please request it from Inter-Library Loans. We will try to source a copy from another library on your behalf.

Subject Guide

Laura Woods

Email Me

Subjects: Computing and Engineering

Quick Links

Summon
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Brightspace Induction Resource
Guide to Library and IT services, in the University-wide induction resource for new students.
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Subject guides