Skip to main content

Subject guides

Food and Nutrition: Home

A Library subject guide for Nutriton, Health and Food Science.

Introduction

Welcome to the Library guide for Food and Nutrition.

Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.

Newspaper articles

Newspapers are a good source of up-to-date information. However, they are aimed at a general audience, and do not tend to be very technical or detailed. They are not peer-reviewed and can very often be erroneous or biased.

Online videos


  • DEFRA: YouTube channel:  Official videos from the UK Government Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA).
  • Euromonitor International: YouTube channel: Market Research video summaries from Euromonitor (publisher of the respected Global Market Information Database)
  • FAO: YouTube channel: Official videos from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO).
  • FSA: YouTube channel: Official videos from the UK Food Standards Agency.
  • MediaHub: From off-campus, search for 'Huddersfield', then login. Explore by subject, to access to several major video archives including: ITN/Reuters, Getty images, Associated Press, and the Wellcome Library.

Scientific Journals Databases

Add to the results you've identified on Summon by using these specialist journal databases to find quality articles for your assignments. The following databases provide details of relevant journal articles (usually including an abstract) and in some cases may also provide a link to the article itself.

For a full list of databases see our A-Z list of electronic resources.

For a list of the journals we have full-text access to see our A-Z list of journals.

Market Research

Market research, from reputable sources, is usually not freely available. We subscribe to several sources of market information which are available here:

Specialist eBook collection

Quick Links

Browzine