Skip to Main Content

Subject guides

Human and Health Sciences

Browse our best resources, organized by subject

Showing 16 Guides

Apr 9, 2025 146
Criminology and Policing
Apr 2, 2025 287
Midwifery
Apr 9, 2025 5900
Nursing
Apr 9, 2025 373
Occupational Therapy
Apr 2, 2025 828
Paramedics
Apr 9, 2025 444
Physiotherapy
Apr 2, 2025 291
Podiatry
Apr 9, 2025 42
Politics
Apr 9, 2025 306
Psychology & Counselling
Apr 2, 2025 173
Research Module HHS HFG1000
Feb 25, 2025 129
Social Work
Apr 9, 2025 89
Sociology

Showing 44 Databases

Additional Databases
Anatomy.tv
Anatomy.tv is an interactive 3D anatomy resource with the world’s most medically accurate and detailed 3D reconstruction of human anatomy from real scan data.
Association for Physical Education (afPE)
Providing quality assured services and resources and valuable professional support for our members and the physical education, school sport and physical activity sector.The members' area allows you to view all previous archive editions of afPE’s termly journal ‘Physical Education Matters’ as well as member downloads, monthly H&S updates, webinar and newsletter archive and many other useful resources.
  • Open Access / Free resource
BioMedCentral Open Access
Contains over 300 peer-reviewed journals, covering science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
BMJ Journals
BMJ Journals is a collection of more than 70 medical and allied science titles published by BMJ.
Accessibility Statement
  • Requires individual account registration
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
This service enables all staff and students to select, view and record streaming radio and television programmes broadcast from over 60 Freeview channels.
Accessibility Statement
Please note: For use only within the United Kingdom.
more...
British National Formulary (BNF)

Provides information on the prescribing, dispensing, and administration of medicines. 
Accessibility Statement.

more...
British Pharmacopoeia
The authoritative collection of standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Please note: this resource permits up to 5 users to access the site simultaneously.
more...
Cambridge Core
CUP publishes over 380 peer reviewed journals a year for distribution worldwide. CUP journals cover a broad range of subjects including all the main subjects in the humanities, social sciences and hard sciences. Their key areas are applied science, environment and conservation, agriculture, neuroscience and biomedicine, history, area studies, language and linguistics, political science and international relations.
Accessibility Statement
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Accessibility Statement
Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Contains information and guidance for common conditions managed in primary care. Also a good source of patient leaflets.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Cochrane Library
Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
Accessibility Statement
Community Care Inform Adults
Provides resources to help Social Workers and social care professionals make evidence-based decisions, including: guidance to legislation, articles, and practice guides.
Accessibility Statement
Community Care Inform Children
Contains resources to help professionals working with children and young people, including: guidance to legislation, articles, and practice guides.
Accessibility Statement
Ebook Central
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Accessibility Statement
  • Open Access / Free resource
Europe PMC
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
iG Publishing: Manchester University Press ebook collection
An ebook collection that covers a range of subjects, such as History, Politics, and Social Sciences.
Accessibility Statement
  • Newspapers
International Newsstream
Comprehensive access to news stories and other content from newspapers across the globe. Includes The Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) archives.
Accessibility Statement
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as the 'Artstor on JSTOR' collection of images and media.
Accessibility Statement
Library Hub Discover

Online access to the catalogues of almost 120 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist libraries, hosted by Jisc. Incorporates the former Copac and SUNCAT services.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

MAG Online Library
Provides a collection of nursing and midwifery journal titles, including the British Journal of Nursing, British Journal of Mental Health Nursing, and Nurse Prescribing.
Accessibility Statement
more...
MedicinesComplete
Provides access to drug and healthcare references, including the British National Formulary, and Martindale.
Accessibility Statement
MEDLINE
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Accessibility Statement
  • Newspapers
Newspapers by ProQuest Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. It provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.
Accessibility Statement
NHS Injectable Medicines Guide
The Injectable Medicines Guide (IMG), also known as Medusa, is an NHS project that aims to provide:
- Guidance on the preparation and administration of injectable medicines in adult and paediatric clinical areas
- A reference source for organisations preparing an injectable medicines administration policy.
Policing Insight
Policing Insight is the leading platform to keep up with the latest in progressive policing. Policing Insight content consists of news, opinion, research and analysis produced by the editorial team and over 1000 external expert contributors.

Key content includes:
Articles
'The Police Student' series
Reports
Media Monitor service
Newsletters
PolicingTV service currently available

Accessibility Statement
Project Muse
A library of digital humanities and social sciences content; includes journals and books on film, theatre, and performing arts. [NB: Recent content may not appear in Library Search but can be accessed through the database itself.
Accessibility Statement
PsycArticles
Contains full text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Accessibility Statement
PsycINFO
An abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s.
Accessibility Statement
PubMed
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.

Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Rittenhouse Books
The Rittenhouse R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks.
Accessibility Statement
Royal College of Physicians Part I (1200-1862)
The Royal College of Physicians archive, which ranges from the year 1200 through 1862, reflects the history and development of modern Western medicine, while documenting the interactions of the medical community with monarchs, politicians, and the general public.

These archives contain an eclectic range of manuscripts and papers on a wide range of medical and non-medical topics and provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians.
Royal Marsden Manual Online
Provides regularly updated information on best practice with clinical-based evidence procedures. 
Accessibility Statement
SAGE Journals
Includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies across a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.
Accessibility Statement
ScienceDirect
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Accessibility Statement
Scopus

A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals. 
Accessibility Statement 
Privacy policy

more...
Springer Journals
Explore journals covering the breadth of science, technology, medicine and social sciences through thousands of titles specific to their disciplines including the Springer, Palgrave Macmillan and Adis imprints.
Accessibility Statement
Springer Protocols
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. This collection covers 1980 to 2012.
Accessibility Statement
Statista

The renowned statistics database is well-known and acknowledged throughout the world as basis for fast and comprehensive search for numbers, data, and facts. Explore the whole world through numbers with Statista
Accessibility Statement

Taylor & Francis eBooks
eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science,
Accessibility Statement
Taylor & Francis Online Library
Access to over 1450 journals, including the world’s largest program of Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge.
Accessibility Statement
UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL)
The UK Medical Heritage Library brings together books and pamphlets from 10 research libraries in the UK, focused on the 19th and early 20th century history of medicine and related disciplines.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
VLeBooks
VLeBooks is Askews and Holts eBook service for academic libraries offering access to an extensive collection of new and backlist content; for teaching, learning and research, across all disciplines.
Accessibility Statement
Wiley Journals
Wiley publish a range of journals and cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
Accessibility Statement

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.
title
Loading...