Skip to main content

Subject guides

Media, Journalism and Film: Specialist Resources

A library guide to support the study of media, journalism and film

Specialist Resources

Arts & Humanities Full Text

A full text journal database which includes coverage of modern languages and literatures, theatre, film and cultural studies.

Rock's Back Pages

The ultimate archive of music journalism with over 25,000 articles on artists and all genres by the finest music writers of the last 50 years.

Market Research

British Film Industry (BFI) statistics and reports

Research data and market intelligence on the UK film industry and film culture.

Business Source Complete

Access to journal articles, industry profiles and market research reports.

Mintel reports

UK market research reports covering a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, travel and tourism.

Passport (formerly GMID)

Marketing reports for markets worldwide containing statistical data on products, brands, industries, consumers, and countries.

Audio Visual Resources

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

BoB is an on demand TV and radio service for education. It allows you to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and search an extensive archive. You can create clips and save them and create alerts when programmes are ready to view.

The first time you access BoB you will be asked to provide your email address and name. You will then receive an email with a link which you will need to click on to verify before you can play content.

Kanopy

Kanopy is a film and documentary streaming service. It is compatible with most devices so you can watch documentaries and films anytime, anywhere. 

BFI InView

The BFI was founded in 1933. BFI InView brings together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distributions and education at Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing and festivals. It includes 2000 downloadable non-fiction film and TV titles from the 20th and early 21st century from the collections.