LibGuides: Pharmacy: Drug information

General reference

British Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines. It is produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat, part of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA).

Additionally, the printed version of the latest edition is available for reference purposes at 615.114 BRI on Floor 5 of the Library.

The International Pharmacopoeia (WHO)
published by WHO with the aim to provide specifications and test methods for priority medicines of major public health importance, for example listed in the WHO Model list of Essential Medicines, recommended by specific WHO disease programmes, as well as medicines for children. The latest edition is available to search and read online.

Electronic Medicines Compendium

The Electronic Medicines Compendium provides free and up-to-date information on UK medicines, including electronic Data Sheets, Summaries of Product Characteristics (SPCs) and Patient Information Leaflets (PILs).

MedicinesComplete: Key title

MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
It is possible to search the entire contents of Medicines Complete, or link to the specific publications detailed below.

Medicines Complete: specific titles

Martindale: the complete drug reference
Contains information on drugs in clinical use worldwide, as well as selected investigational and veterinary drugs, herbal medicines, pharmaceutical excipients, vitamins and nutritional agents, vaccines, radiopharmaceuticals, contrast media and diagnostic agents, medicinal gases, drugs of abuse and recreational drugs, toxic substances, disinfectants and pesticides.
Clarke's analysis of drugs and poisons
Clarke's provides over 1700 entries detailing physical properties, analytical methods, pharmacokinetic data, ultraviolet, infra-red & mass spectra, and therapeutic & toxicity data of drugs and poisons.
Handbook of pharmaceutical excipients
a comprehensive guide to the uses, properties and safety of pharmaceutical excipients. The handbook provides data on the physical properties of excipients and information on the safe use and potential toxicity of materials.
Stockley's drug interactions
Stockley’s Drug Interactions provides comprehensive and authoritative information on drug interactions, covering therapeutic drugs, proprietary medicines, herbal medicines, foodstuffs, drinks, pesticides, and drugs of abuse.

British National Formulary (BNF) This link opens in a new window
This electronic resource aims to provide doctors, pharmacists and other health care professionals with sound, up-to-date information about the use of medicines. It provides key information on the prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines.
The BNF + BNFC app makes it quick and easy to access practical, evidence-based medicines information whenever and wherever you need it.
You need to register to use the app, including choosing a job role. "Student" is one option.
Download the BNF + BNFC app on iOS or Android:

Referencing Medicines Complete

Each resource in Medicines Complete was originally a printed reference work (book or set of books). You reference each title as an electronic book - see our APA 7th referencing guide for advice. See below, last updated September 2024.

Brayfield, A., & Cadart, C. (Eds.). (2024). Martindale: The complete drug reference. Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com

Hancock, B. C., Moss, G. P., & Goldfarb, D. J. (Eds.). (2024). Pharmaceutical excipients. Pharmaceutical Press; American Pharmacists Association. https://www.medicinescomplete.com

Joint Formulary Committee. (2024). British National Formulary. BMJ; Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com

Paediatric Formulary Committee. (2024). BNF for children. BMJ; Pharmaceutical Press; RCPCH Publications. https://www.medicinescomplete.com

Preston, C. L. (Ed.). Stockley’s drug interactions. Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com

Moffat, A. C., Osselton, M. D., & Elliott, S. P. (Eds). Clarke’s analysis of drugs and poisons. Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com

Toxicology

National Poisons Information Service

Environmental Health and Toxicology SIS - a Specialised Information Service from the United States National Library of Medicine. The Toxicology Information Page includes the Toxnet databases, internet resources and a PubMed Toxicology Subset search

Subject guides