Skip to main content

Subject guides

Library Services for Studying at Home [COVID-19]: NEW Temporary electronic resources

Journals and Databases

In response to the current situation, a number of suppliers have made additional content available to us. Listed below are the additional resources you can currently search and use content from. If you need any help with accessing these resources, please contact library.periodicals@hud.ac.uk

Annual Reviews

Journals have been made freely available until 15 June 2020.

  • Useful for: Applied Sciences

 

Berghahn Journals

Available until 30 June 2020.

  • Useful for Education, Politics, Religion

 

Bloomsbury

Please see below the details of the products available and how to log in.  There is also a video here to demonstrate the log-in process.  

Available until 30 June 2020.

Applied Visual Arts

To sign in, click on Log In in the top right corner, then click on the purple link to the 'Shibboleth login in page', search for 'University of Huddersfield Library'.  You will then be asked to sign in with your university username and password.

Cultural History

To sign in, click on Log In in the top right corner, then click on the purple link to the 'Shibboleth login in page', search for 'University of Huddersfield Library'.  You will then be asked to sign in with your university username and password.

Fashion Central

To sign in, click on 'Sign In: Institutional' in the top right corner, then select 'Shibboleth', Search for 'University of Huddersfield Library'.  You will then be asked to sign in with your university username and password.

Popular Music

To sign in, click on Log In in the top right corner, then click on the purple link to the 'Shibboleth login in page', search for 'University of Huddersfield Library'.  You will then be asked to sign in with your university username and password.

Screen Studies

To sign in, click on Log In in the top right corner, then click on the blue link to the 'Shibboleth login in page', search for 'University of Huddersfield Library'.  You will then be asked to sign in with your university username and password.

 

Cambridge University Press

Available until the end of May 2020.

Cambridge University Press have provided access to a collection of over 2,000 eBooks hosted on Cambridge Core, for university libraries and their associated students and faculty. This collection includes HTML textbooks, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements – please visit the linked homepages for more information and title lists.

 

Early Years Journals from Mark Allen:

We are able to access these journals that are part of our print collection electronically until 31 August 2020.

Early Years Educator

Nursery World

  • Useful for: Education

 

EDP Sciences

Available until the end of June 2020

  • Useful for Applied Sciences, Maths

 

Equinox Journals

Articles published within Equinox Journals in the last 12 months only have been made freely available for a temporary period.

  • Useful for: Religious Studies, Music, Linguistics

 

GeoScienceWorld eBooks

The following GeoScienceWorld book publishers have extended public access to all of their ebooks until the 30th June 2020:

American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Canadian Science Publishing, Clay Minerals Society, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland, SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology, Society of Economic Geologists, Society of Exploration Geophysicists and The Geological Society of London.

 

Index of Medieval Art

Available until June 2020

  • Useful for: Art, History

 

JSTOR

Expanded access to content on JSTOR has been made available until 30 June 2020.

  • Useful for a range of subject areas listed here, including Arts, Sciences, Business, Sustainability, History, Law, Social Sciences, Maths

Some additional Public Health resources are also being made available on the JSTOR Platform until 30 June 2020.

  • Useful for: Health

 

Manchester Hive

Click on the link below for the relevant collection of books and journal articles.  To access the content you will need to click on 'Sign in Via Institution' and then select 'University of Huddersfield Library'.  You will be redirected to the library page to enter your Username and Password.

Film studies:

https://www.manchesterhive.com/collection/manchester-film-studies

Literature studies:

https://www.manchesterhive.com/collection/manchester-literature-studies

Shakespeare

https://www.manchesterhive.com/collection/manchester-shakespeare 

  • Useful for: Humanities

 

Medical Services and Warfare - AM Digital 

A collection of resources on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. PLEASE NOTE: PDF downloads are not available as part of this trial.

Available until 6 August 2020.

  • Useful for History

 

Music Online: Classical Scores Library

Available until 30 June 2020.

Please use this link to access the trial: https://trials.proquest.com/access?token=bdGsjoJdIWGTXbzdrnNQTcciD

Tick 'I'm not a Robot' then 'Continue'. On the next screen click on Music Online: Classical Scores Library to access the content.  You will need to do this each day you want to log-in.

  • Useful for: Music

 

Pharmacy Knowledge

You can register to access Pharmacy Knowledge until Autumn 2020.  Please use the relevant link below:

Tutor registration - https://www.pharmacyknowledge.com/tutors/tutor-login

Student registrationhttps://www.pharmacyknowledge.com/students/student-login

Please follow the instructions here: https://www.pharmacyknowledge.com/get-started Please select the option for Open Athens and then search for University of Huddersfield Library.  You will then need to log-in using your university username and password.  If you are having problems registering please email:library.periodicals@hud.ac.uk

Demonstration video for Students

Demonstration video for Tutors

 

  • Useful for: Pharmacy

 

Project Muse

Project MUSE is supporting participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available on their platform.  The list of publishers and the available content is on the Project Muse site.

  • Useful for: Social Sciences, Humanities

 

RILM

Available until 31 May 2020 

Royal Music Encyclopedias

MGG Online

  • Useful for: Music

 

University of California Press

University of California Press is making access to it's journal content available until June 2020.  (Please note books are not included in this offer.)

  • Useful for: Criminology, History, Environment, Media, Music, Politics, Social Sciences, 

 

Westlaw 

We have access to additional Law books via the Westlaw platform for 2 months.  This includes Sweet and Maxwell titles such as 'Criminal Law: The Fundamentals', 'Hanbury and Martin: Modern Equity', 'Land Law Textbook', 'Trietel on Contract'

Other Resources

Audible - Free stories to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - Content is available in the EU, rather than just in the UK, for a limited time only for students enrolled at UK universities. Access to the BBC News Channel is available internationally.

Google Scholar

OpenLearn

Ebooks

A number of our ebook suppliers have made additional books available. Where possible, these have been added to Summon, so you can search Summon in the usual way.

  • Useful for: All subject areas
  • Some of the items added include: Emerald ebooks, Harvard Business Review ebooks, Duke University Press ebooks, Berghahn ebooks

Additional Book Resources

University of Michigan Press

Ohio State University Press

Business Ebooks

An additional 440 ebook titles have been made available via Business Expert Press until 15 July.  Please search their site for the full list of titles we have access to.

COVID-19 Research

If you are interested in access to research that has been made available on the virus please email library.periodicals@hud.ac.uk so we can direct you to the relevant information that is currently freely accessible.