Applied Sciences

ACS is a leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through peer-reviewed journals and eBooks.
Accessibility Statement

Contains over 300 peer-reviewed journals, covering science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

This service enables all staff and students to select, view and record streaming radio and television programmes broadcast from over 60 Freeview channels.
Accessibility Statement
Please note: For use only within the United Kingdom.

The Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities covers astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM, and government grants for scientific research. It contains administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, clippings, personal papers, gray literature—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
Accessibility Statement

The authoritative collection of standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Please note: this resource permits up to 5 users to access the site simultaneously.

CUP publishes over 380 peer reviewed journals a year for distribution worldwide. CUP journals cover a broad range of subjects including all the main subjects in the humanities, social sciences and hard sciences. Their key areas are applied science, environment and conservation, agriculture, neuroscience and biomedicine, history, area studies, language and linguistics, political science and international relations.
Accessibility Statement

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a collection of over 600,000 small-molecule organic and organometallic crystal structures that can be visualised and downloaded.
Part of the PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service) platform.

A searchable repository of crowd-sourced chemical safety incident information, was launched on a new open access platform developed and hosted by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society specializing in scientific information solutions.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Chemicalize is a public web resource which identifies chemical structures in webpages and other text using ChemAxon's Name to Structure parsing.

A free chemical structure database providing access to over 28 million structures, properties, and associated information.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
Accessibility Statement

Provides access to the wide range of crystallographic structural data made available by the Chemical Database Service.
Part of the PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service) platform.

Numerical database providing thermophysical property data for construction and design of chemical apparatus, plants and processes. It is free to search but there is a fee for data tables.
Part of the PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service) platform.

Digimap delivers Ordnance Survey maps and geospatial data, available either via download facilities for use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online. The mapping tool (Roam) allows users to view and print maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales as well as enabling the user to specify a map scale, area and content.
Accessibility Statement

Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Accessibility Statement

With global coverage, Espacenet offers access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to present.
Accessibility Statement

Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Featuring works by criminologists and forensic practitioners, this e-library contains an ever-growing number of ebooks covering areas such as forensics, forensic analysis, criminal justice, law, arson and fire investigation, law enforcement, counterterrorism, crisis management and negotiation methods, expert witnessing, forensic pathology and toxicology, and cyber crime.
Accessibility Statement

This resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Accessibility Statement

ICSD is an information service in crystallography and comprises the world’s largest database for fully identified inorganic crystal structures.
The Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) is a database provided by FIZ Karlsruhe GmbH.
Part of the PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service) platform.

Comprehensive access to news stories and other content from newspapers across the globe. Includes The Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) archives.
Accessibility Statement

JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as the 'Artstor on JSTOR' collection of images and media.
Accessibility Statement

Provides access to over 1,000 reference works in science and technology, including handbooks, encyclopaedias, and datasets. Data is enhanced with productivity tools (such as interactive tables, graphs and live equations) to help analyze data.
Accessibility Statement

Provides access to drug and healthcare references, including the British National Formulary, and Martindale.
Accessibility Statement

Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Accessibility Statement

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. It provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.
Accessibility Statement

The NEWT Guidelines is a unique resource which aims to provide prescribers and other healthcare professionals with a single point of reference which draws together the available information relating to medicines management in patients with enteral feeding tubes or swallowing difficulties, and presents it in a practical fashion.

Please note: Access for clinical use (i.e. to manage real patients) is not permitted.

Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist users to evaluate their validity and interpretability.

The Physiotherapy Evidence Database has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

A library of digital humanities and social sciences content; includes journals and books on film, theatre, and performing arts. [NB: Recent content may not appear in Library Search but can be accessed through the database itself.
Accessibility Statement

Includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PubChem covers around 25 million chemical substances.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.

Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 48 peer-reviewed journals, around 2,000 book titles and a collection of online databases and literature updating services. Covering the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
Accessibility Statement

Includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies across a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.
Accessibility Statement

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Accessibility Statement

A chemist-curated database from CAS offering reference, substance and reaction searching with sophisticated analysis tools. Substances can be searched by chemical structure, markush (for Patents), molecular formula, property or substance identifier. SciFinder-n is a new generation of SciFinder featuring a redesigned interface, an improved search engine, and search algorithm. It continues to provide the same access to data and research but is now mobile-friendly, and offers more filter options.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Explore journals covering the breadth of science, technology, medicine and social sciences through thousands of titles specific to their disciplines including the Springer, Palgrave Macmillan and Adis imprints.
Accessibility Statement

A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. This collection covers 1980 to 2012.
Accessibility Statement

eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science,
Accessibility Statement

VLeBooks is Askews and Holts eBook service for academic libraries offering access to an extensive collection of new and backlist content; for teaching, learning and research, across all disciplines.
Accessibility Statement

Wiley publish a range of journals and cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
Accessibility Statement