LibGuides: Accountancy, Finance & Economics: Home

Ask your Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

I currently have a hybrid working pattern so I can offer individual appointments in person or on Teams to help you with your studies. I can help you to find information, search the databases, develop a research strategy, reference your work correctly and use reference management software. To make an appointment with me please email the address below, thank you.
library@hud.ac.uk

01484 472700

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Business, Education and Law

Useful Websites

CIMA - Chartered Institute of Management Accountants
CIMA is the world’s largest and leading professional body of management accountants.
Financial Reporting Council - UK Corporate Governance Code
The UK CGC sets out standards of good practice in relation to board leadership and effectiveness, remuneration, accountability and relations with shareholders
International Monetary Fund
IMF free data on Macroeconomic variables for almost every country in the world
Office for National Statistics
Economic, social & population statistics for the UK.
The World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world
Europages
A business directory covering more than 1 million companies within Europe provides contact details, brand names and web addresses. Can be searched by company name, product or service, and by business sector.
Google Finance
A source of financial data for companies. To find a share price, type a company name in the box next to "get quotes". Historical prices are also available.
Yahoo! UK & Ireland Finance
A source of financial data for companies. To find a share price, type a company name in the box next to "get quotes". Historical prices, profiles (includes website), key statistics are also available.
Knowledge guide to International Standards on Auditing (ISA)
This website provides extensive information on international standards in the field of accounting and auditing. It is compiled and maintained by the Library and Information Service of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW). The Guide aims to help the user find the information he or she needs on international standards, keep up to date with the latest issues in the field, and find out the ICAEW viewpoint.

Key Databases

Databases are tools, often focused on a specific subject area or profession, which allow you to search for high quality information.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, research reports, and downloadable data
Accessibility Statement
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A full-text business database, covering management, marketing, finance, accounting, economics and international business. In addition to journal articles, this database provides access to company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Accessibility Statement
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 200 peer-reviewed Management journals.
Accessibility Statement
FAME This link opens in a new window
Provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the UK and Republic of Ireland. Plus, company contact details, brand names, no. of employees, and names of directors.
Accessibility Statement

Please note: FAME is licenced for education, teaching, tuition, training, instruction, learning, private study and/or research only. Use for university business processes (including Business Development, Marketing and Alumni Offices) are prohibited.
Orbis VL This link opens in a new window
Orbis is Bureau van Dijk ’s global database which has information on over 450 million public and private companies including, banks, vessels, insurance, and industrial companies covering 220+ countries.

It is a tool that specialises in private company data, containing active and inactive companies with up to ten years of financial data available.
Accessibility Statement
Our subscription provides data on very large companies (VL), defined as follows:
• operating revenue >= $130 million US (100 million EUR)
• total assets >= $260 million US (200 million EUR)
• number of employees >= 1000
Global Forecasting Service (Economist Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new window
The EIU's free Global Forecasting Service provides an in-depth five-year macroeconomic forecast for the world economy, along with clear analysis of complex global trends that influence markets and business.
Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
Access comprehensive credit intelligence, including the world's leading bank fundamental data set, ratings and research covering the fixed-income universe, as well as financial data on insurance firms, corporates and sovereigns.
Alternative login instructions
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Expert industry market research reports, statistics, analysis, data, trends and forecasts from the UK, US, China, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Mexico, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Italy, France, Pan-EU and Global.
Accessibility Statement

Subject guides

Accountancy, Finance & Economics: Home

Welcome

Ask your Subject Librarian

Useful Websites

Key Databases

How to use Library Search