We also have a guide to using library and IT on the Brightspace induction module covering some of the basics of using the library; plus the full A-Z list of electronic resources too.
We have a separate Newspaper guide which gives you lots of information about free and subscription resources.
These are a range of newspaper resources to which the Library subscribes. Some of which are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.
These are range of online dictionaries and reference works to which the Library subscribes. Some of them are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.
These are a range of primary resources to which the Library subscribes. Many of them are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.
These are a range of bibliographic databases to which the Library subscribes. Not all are directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the title to find out more about each resource.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThese titles have recently been added to the University of Huddersfield library collection.
Heritage Quay is the university's archive and records management service. It is located on level 3 of the Schwann building and is open to students, staff and the general public.
You can view archives in person by appointment in the Research Room which is open Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays 9.00-16:30. To book an appointment, please visit the booking page.
You can also enjoy free exhibitions which are open 7 days a week and you can play with interactives that showcase archival collections. The event space hosts thousands of people each year and is available for students and groups to hire.
Heritage Quay has over 160 archives and collections which are arranged into seven broad themes.
Some of the highlights are:
Education: University of Huddersfield Archive; University of Huddersfield Students' Union Archive.
Sport: England Netball Archive, Rugby Football League Archive.
Art and Design: Sally Jerome Archive; Marion Rhodes Archive; Textile Fabrics of India Archive.
Literature: Ted Hughes Network Archive; Mark Hincliffe Ted Hughes Collection; Chris Missen True Crime Collection.
Theatre: Mikron Theatre Company Archive; Lawrence Batley Theatre Archive; Sir Patrick Stewart Archive.
Music: British Music Collection; Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival; Huddersfield Music Society.
Politics: Huddersfield Labour Party Archive; Duncan Scott Archive; John Henry Whitley Archive; Arthur Gardiner Personal Papers and Library.
You can browse Heritage Quay's collections on the online catalogue and on Summon.
Heritage Quay offers student work placements which are communicated to students via their school when available and volunteering opportunities which are advertised on HQ's social media platforms when available: Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.
For more information or assistance with research, at undergraduate or postgraduate level, contact the Archives team on 01484 473168 or archives@hud.ac.uk.
If you are searching for collections that are not held within the University of Huddersfield Archives, there are two portals you might try:
Discovery – This is the search engine for the National Archives. The Google style search also incorporates a number of portals that were once searchable separately. When your search results page comes up, on the left hand side you can filter results from the National Archives only or from other record offices. You can also filter by date.
Archives Hub – This is a newer portal so may have more up to date collection results. Again you can search by keyword, subject, name or date. They also have useful subject guides that cover a range of collections from different archives.
EHRI Portal - Hosted by the European Holocaust Research Infrastructure, this portal offers access to information on Holocaust-related archival material held in institutions across Europe and beyond.
If you are dealing with documents that were written many years ago you might like to polish your palaeography skills. The University Archives offer a 2hr training session on Palaeography, ask for further details. You can also practice online at this training site: Reading old handwriting 1500-1800
You might also be interested in our ‘Expert Researcher’ blog series. This looks into the science of archive catalogues, what certain fields in a catalogue mean and how cataloguers fill them in, which might help you add an extra dimension to your research process.
For information or assistance with research, at undergraduate or postgraduate level, contact the Archives team on 01484 473168 or archives@hud.ac.uk
These are a range of governmental and parliamentary resources either to which the Library subscribes or which are freely available on the web. They are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.
Here are a selection of resources available from which to view and/or download sounds and videos. Hover your mouse over the title for further information.
