Skip to main content

Subject guides

History: Home

A library guide for History students

Support for studying at home [COVID-19]

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* 

In addition to this library guide for your subject, please see our Library Guide to Services for Studying at Home. These pages have been created to help you to use library services online whilst the physical University Library is closed as part of the national emergency response to COVID-19.

You may also find our COVID-19 FAQs helpful.

Introduction

A quick guide to using the Library for History students and links to some of our key resources. Anything else you'd like to see here, let me know!

     

We also have a Brightspace module covering some of the basics of using the library; plus the full A-Z list of electronic resources too. 

Newspapers

We have a separate Newspaper guide which gives you lots of information about free and subscription resources.

These are a range of newspaper resources to which the Library subscribes. Some of which are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.

Dictionaries

These are range of online dictionaries and reference works to which the Library subscribes. Some of them are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.

Databases

These are a range of primary resources to which the Library subscribes. Many of them are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.

These are a range of bibliographic databases to which the Library subscribes. Not all are directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the title to find out more about each resource.

Recent book purchases

These titles have recently been added to the University of Huddersfield library collection.

Archives

The University Archive Service is housed in Heritage Quay, a space open to students and the general public for over 70 hours per week. Visitors can enjoy free exhibitions, play with interactives that showcase archival collections, and the events space hosts thousands of people each year. The space is available for students and groups to hire. If you are interested in a career in heritage you might want to consider a work placement in the Archives, you can find out more about this here.

The archive has over 140 collections, and are of interest to students studying the histories of gender and identity, empire and colonialism, radical thought, leisure and society and more. The collections are arranged into seven broad themes. Some of the highlights are:

Education:  University of Huddersfield (1841-Present); National Adult School Union http://heritagequay.org/education/ 

Sport:  The England Netball Archive, the Rugby Football League Archive. http://heritagequay.org/sport/ 

Art and Design: Sally Jerome Archive and Marion Rhodes Archive. Both women were students at the Huddersfield School of Art. Foreign Library Society and the Literary and Scientific Society. Jo Ogle Needlework Library, the Textile Fabrics of India. http://heritagequay.org/artanddesign/ 

Literature: The Ted Hughes Network archive and Donald Crossley Archive explore the life and career of the Yorkshire-born poet. http://heritagequay.org/literature/ 

Theatre:  Mikron Theatre Company; Lawrence Batley Theatre; Huddersfield Musical Theatre Company  http://heritagequay.org/theatre/ 

Music:  British Music Collection; Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival; Slaithwaite Brass Band; Goldberg Ensemble; Huddersfield Music Society; Incorporated Society of Musicians http://heritagequay.org/music/ 

Politics:  Huddersfield, Colne Valley and Denby Dale Labour Party Collections; J H Whitley; J P W Mallalieu; Arthur Gardiner conscientious objector; Duncan Scott archive http://heritagequay.org/politics/ 

Many of the collections are searchable through the archive website and on Summon

For information or assistance with research, at undergraduate or postgraduate, contact the Archives team on 01484 473168 or archives@hud.ac.uk or by popping in to see them during usual office hours.

If you are searching for collections that are not held within the University of Huddersfield Archives, there are two portals you might try:

Discovery – This is the search engine for the National Archives.  The Google style search also incorporates a number of portals that were once searchable separately.  When your search results page comes up, on the left hand side you can filter results from the National Archives only or from other record offices.  You can also filter by date.

Archives Hub – This is a newer portal so may have more up to date collection results.  Again you can search by keyword, subject, name or date.  They also have useful subject guides that cover a range of collections from different archives.

EHRI Portal - Hosted by the European Holocaust Research Infrastructure, this portal offers access to information on Holocaust-related archival material held in institutions across Europe and beyond.

If you are dealing with documents that were written many years ago you might like to polish your palaeography skills.  The University Archives offer a 2hr training session on Palaeography, ask for further details.  You can also practice online at this training site: Reading old handwriting 1500-1800

You might also be interested in our ‘Expert Researcher’ blog series.  This looks into the science of archive catalogues, what certain fields in a catalogue mean and how cataloguers fill them in, which might help you add an extra dimension to your research process.

For information or assistance with research, at undergraduate or postgraduate level, contact the Archives team on 01484 473168 or archives@hud.ac.uk

Government and Parliamentary sources

These are a range of governmental and parliamentary resources either to which the Library subscribes or which are freely available on the web. They are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.

Quick Links

Audio-visual resources

Here are a selection of resources available from which to view and/or download sounds and videos. Hover your mouse over the title for further information.