LibGuides: Transport, Logistics, Supply Chain, Operations &amp; Business Analytics: Market &amp; industry research

Market research & industry profiles

Market research, from reputable sources, is usually not freely available. We subscribe to several sources of commercial market intelligence:

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel & tourism. Provides information such as market sizes, trends, and segmentation.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Expert industry market research reports, statistics, analysis, data, trends and forecasts. Includes coverage of transportation, manufacturing, wholesaling and energy supply.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, analysis, and reports on global markets, economies, and consumers.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers easy-to-search statistics and reports on a wide range of topics including: digital & trends; society; consumers; brands; industries; markets; companies
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, Business Source Complete also provides access to industry profiles and market research reports.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, ABI/INFORM Complete provides access to Industry and Market Research reports from Business Monitor International, and First Research.

Free resources from the British Library:

British Library Business & IP Centre
Offers downloadable guides to researching key industries.

Management and Business Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the British Library, this portal contains full-text reports, working papers, videos and articles produced by top management researchers and consultants.
Accessibility Statement

Referencing tips: Market research and company reports

Use the reference builder for reports.
You need to reference the author, year, report title, and URL. e.g. Mintel. (2023). Sustainability in food – UK – 2023. https://www.mintel.com
The author is often the name of the resource, e.g. FAME, Mintel. The author of Passport (if no named author) is EuroMonitor. The author of Business Source Complete reports varies - company and industry profiles are often by MarketLine.
The year can usually be found near the title of the report. Check this is up-to-date enough for your needs before using. For statistical data taken from FAME/Orbis VL/Passport, use the current year.

Transport industry videos

BFI Player: Free historical archive footage of British Transport.

DfT Youtube channel: The official Youtube channel for Department for Transport videos.

Help with market research

Selected help guides are linked below. All the database homepages also have their own help pages which have the most up-to-date user guides and videos - we recommend you make use of these.

Conducting and using market research

Getting started with business databases
This guide has been created by your subject librarians to help get you started in using some of our specialist business databases for finding market research and company information.

Marketing Mentor
Guides to conducting effective market research, including market, competitor and consumer analysis.

Using market research in a business plan
(added with permission from Mintel)

Mintel

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Click on your name in the top right, then on 'Help & Training', to view user guides.

Mintel reports user guide
Explains how to navigate Mintel reports.

Passport

Passport This link opens in a new window
Click on 'Help Guide and Videos' in the top right to view how-to videos and help guides.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.

How to export statistics from Passport to Excel

Bitesize business databases

There have been some changes to the Passport interface since we produced Bitesize Passport. See the video below or the Passport help pages for details or email library@hud.ac.uk for further support.

Changes to Passport interface video:

Subject guides

Transport, Logistics, Supply Chain, Operations & Business Analytics: Market & industry research

Market research & industry profiles

Referencing tips: Market research and company reports

Transport industry videos

Help with market research

Bitesize business databases