It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the Library guide for Digital Media. You'll find links to some useful resources for your studies and ideas of where to go if you can't find what you need. Please get in touch if you'd like to see anything else!
Resources for academic reading and writing
Here are a few online resources that can help you improve your academic writing.
YouTube channel providing enthusiastic coverage of recent research papers in computer science, mostly focusing on AI and 3D animation. A great introduction on how to read and understand research papers. What a time to be alive!
Library Computer Software
Adobe and Microsoft programmes are installed on all library computers as standard. Some specialist software is also available. For a full list, please see the library's website: What software is in the Library?
Mintel provides reports on a wide range of sectors including PC, laptop, tablet, mobile phone ownership/ usage, and mobile gaming attitudes and behaviours. Provides information such as market sizes, trends, consumer attitudes.
The Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) produces impartial, non-partisan, and peer-reviewed briefings, designed to make scientific research accessible to the UK Parliament. Their research notes and briefing papers are all freely available to the public.
GDC Vault gives access to design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
Time Magazine reports on world news, politics, science and entertainment.
Time can be browsed for free on their website, and some articles are available for free. We also have full-text access via Summon, so if you find an article in Time that asks for a login, copy/paste the title into Summon and you should be able to find it tis way.
(NB there can be a delay of up to a week in the newest articles appearing in Summon)
With over 100,000 users, Games Industry International has one of the largest recruitment databases for videogames-related roles so is a great website to register with when looking for a placement and/ or job. It also contains the latest new and opinions from the industry.
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the U.K. & Republic of Ireland. Provides other company data including: contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Google Scholar is Google's search tool that allows you to find published research papers. Some of these will be open access, but for any that are paywalled, you can enable "Library Links" to get direct access via the University of Huddersfield's subscriptions.
If you need a paper that is not available through the Library, and you can't find a free version via any of the above sources, please request it from Inter-Library Loans. We will try to source a copy from another library on your behalf.