Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Searching for information
The main way to search for books, journal articles and more is by using the library's search page.
The search page uses Summon, a university version of Google, to search for anything the library has access to, and more! From the search page you can specify what kind of content you want to look for i.e. articles or books, and make modifications to your search and the type of content you want once you have some results back. It's an easy way to find lots of high quality information for your assignments.
However, sometimes Summon isn't enough - so the resources linked to on this page are dedicated specialist resources that may help you in your studies.
Useful websites & statistics
Top Online Resources
British National Formulary (BNF)
The BNF provides key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines. Medicines generally prescribed in the UK are covered and those considered less suitable for prescribing are clearly identified.
A huge collection of citations and articles specifically focussing on nursing and allied health content. CINAHL is extremely powerful, providing a large number of options for specifying types of medical research, sources, and even the gender and age of the population. However, please note that it uses American terminology/spelling, so you may need to revise your spelling or use the 'Suggest subject terms' option in the advanced search to get the most relevant results.
The Cochrane Collaboration is an international, independent, not-for-profit organisation of over 28,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide.
This provides access to more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publishers web sites.
This is the health professionals equivalent of Summon containing both academic and practical information. You can conduct a standard search using keywords and then filter the results by types of information e.g. patient info or drugs info. It also allows you to search by specific topics and NICE guidance. Evidence search is a new resource and will be conitnually updated.
Scopus is a database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles. It covers nearly 18,000 international journal titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences (including arts and humanities) fields.
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
TRIP Database Plus
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
NICE: National Institutite for Health and Care Excellence. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. NICE Pathways are available here. To REFERENCE a guideline/pathway in APA 7th, use the method detailed here for referencing NICE guidelines