LibGuides: Music Technology (Department of Engineering and Technology): Home

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for Music Technology. Here you will find the key databases to use for your subject, along with links to other useful information, such as market research and the latest industry news. Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.

Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help, and please let us know if there are any key resources you think should be added to this guide.

Browzine

Key Resources

AES Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Search almost every Audio Engineering Society paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal from 1953 to the present.

Applied Acoustics
Applied Acoustics is an online journal covering recent developments in the understanding and applications of acoustics.
Art of Record Production
Art of Record Production is an online, open-access, peer-reviewed journal promoting the interdisciplinary study of record production.
Computer Music Journal
Computer Music Journal is published quarterly with an annual sound and video anthology containing curated music. Available online from 1999-present, and in paper copy in the library from 1990-2013.
Journal of New Music Research
The Journal of New Music Research (JNMR) publishes material which increases our understanding of music and musical processes by systematic, scientific and technological means.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (JASA)
Access all papers from JASA from 1929-present.

Use these databases to find the latest research in music technology, as well as resources on music, and training on music and audio software packages.

Audio Engineering Society digital library
Search almost every AES paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal from 1953 to the present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Browse journals and books on a range of topics, including more than 600 music titles.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is a comprehensive music reference resource which includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online with over a million tracks of classical music, jazz, world music and folk music.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Lynda.com is an online training library that provides access to 1000 courses and over 60,000 tutorials on: audio and music recording, video, business, photography, web design, graphic design, and more; all organized by subject software, and instructor.
For more information and help about accessing and using LinkedIn Learning, please visit the HudHelp page

Podcomplex
Free online music distribution and information resource for musicians. Includes glossary, blog, tutorials, guides and links.

Use the links below for news and opinions on the music technology and sound engineering industry, aimed at industry professionals.

Future Music
Music technology news and reviews
Music Tech. Magazine
Music technology reviews and tutorials
MusTech.net
Music technology for educators
Sonic State
Music technology news by musicians, for musicians
Sound on Sound
Product reviews, interviews and features

Market research, from reputable sources, is usually not freely available. We subscribe to several sources of market information which are available through the links below. Thee can be useful for researching the market for engineering applications.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
NEW!! Market research reports on industries including music production, music downloading and streaming services, and computer game publishing.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, energy, retail, and travel & tourism. Provides information such as market sizes, trends, and segmentation.
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW!! Numbers, data and facts on a wide range of topics.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Marketing reports for markets worldwide, that provide statistical data on products, brands, industries, consumers, and countries.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, Business Source Complete also provides access to industry profiles and market research reports.
FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the U.K. & Republic of Ireland. Provides other company data including: contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Newspapers by ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search local, national and international newspapers, business press, and trade publications.

Finding Open Access research online

Below are some useful tools for finding Open Access research papers outside of Summon.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's search tool that allows you to find published research papers. Some of these will be open access, but for any that are paywalled, you can enable "Library Links" to get direct access via the University of Huddersfield's subscriptions.
Google Scholar Library Links screencast
Short screencast video showing how to enable Library Links in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar tips
Instructions on setting up Library Links in Google Scholar, and tips on getting the most out of Google Scholar.

Unpaywall
Browser plug-in that helps you find free, open access versions of academic papers that are behind paywalls.
LibKey Nomad
Browser plugin that finds versions of academic papers within your University library subscriptions.
EThOS: e-theses online service
Doctoral theses from almost all UK higher education institutions.
Core: Open Access research papers
Core is a dedicated search engine that searches only open access research papers.
Inter-Library Loans
If you need a paper that is not available through the Library, and you can't find a free version via any of the above sources, please request it from Inter-Library Loans. We will try to source a copy from another library on your behalf.

Subject Guide

Laura Woods

Email Me

Subjects: Computing and Engineering

Quick Links

Summon
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Brightspace Induction Resource
Guide to Library and IT services, in the University-wide induction resource for new students.
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Subject guides