LibGuides: Contemporary Art & Illustration: Home

Quick Links

Library Search
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
- Art, Design and Architecture Collection search samples

Art UK
Art from over 3,000 UK public art collections. Search by artwork, artist or subject.

a-n The Artists Information Company This link opens in a new window
a-n The Artists Information Company is a UK-wide arts organisation that supports visual artists and their employers by widening access to professional information, resources and support. Covering art and design, visual arts, fine art, applied art, public art, art history and cultural policy, this resource contains critical and practical content suited for vocational and academic students.
Accessibility Statement

Axisweb - Contemporary Art & Artists
Database of contemporary British art and artists.
British Cartoon Archive
This collection holds the artwork for more than 150,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines. The collection of artwork dates back to 1904.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as the 'Artstor on JSTOR' collection of images and media.
Accessibility Statement
Photoworks This link opens in a new window
Photoworks promotes engagement with photography and new thinking on its place within contemporary culture by commissioning and publishing new work and writing on photography and by producing exhibitions, books, participation and learning projects and events including the Brighton Photo Biennial.

Research Catalogue An International Database for Artistic Research
Artistic research repository for the dissemination of self-published content as well as peer-reviewed publications.

Visual Arts Data Service This link opens in a new window
A considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WGSN is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
ABM is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. It covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design, and photography.
Accessibility Statement

Europeana
The image collection on Europeana comes from galleries, libraries, archives and museums from all over Europe. Collections include art and fashion.
The Sketchbook Project Library
Digital collection of sketchbooks from the The Sketchbook Project at the Brooklyn Art Library.
UbuWeb
Collection of avant-garde art videos.

Subject Guide

Janet Di Franco

Email Me

Contact:

I currently have a hybrid working pattern so I can offer individual appointments in person or on Teams to help you with your studies. I can help you to find information, search the databases, develop a research strategy, reference your work correctly and use reference management software. To make an appointment with me please email the address below, thank you.
library@hud.ac.uk

01484 472700

Subjects: Arts and Humanities, Business, Education and Law

Useful class numbers

If you want to browse the library for inspiration, here are key locations to get you started...

Art theory 700
Art history and movements 709
Sculpture 730
Drawing 740
Illustration 741
Painting 750
Photography 770
Performing arts 790
Culture and subcultures 306

Subject guides

Contemporary Art & Illustration: Home

Quick Links

Key Resources

Subject Guide

Useful class numbers