Skip to main content

Subject guides

Media, Journalism and Film: Finding books and journal articles

A library guide to support the study of media, journalism and film

Serarching for Resources

The main way to search for library resources such as books, journal articles, DVDs or sound recordings is by using Summon.

 

Reference books, newspapers and more...

ProQuest Ebook Central

Our biggest collection of Electronic books, Ebook Central, lets you search for titles on your subject area, view the full text online and copy and print out extracts.  Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.

Oxford Reference Online

A large collection of reference works including dictionaries and encylopedias pulished by Oxford University Press. It is a good place to start for a definition or general overview on many topics.

ProQuest International Newsstream

Provides the full text of articles in U.K. daily and Sunday newspapers, including many regional newspaper and some trade publications.

Finding Journal Articles

These resources contain journal articles on journalism and media and other topics. Most have links to the full text and where this is not available they give you enough information to find the article elswhere.

Summon

As well as using the Summon search box you can also search for journal titles individually. Click on the Journals link on the front page of Summon. You can also browse a list of journal titles for journalism and media by selecting a subject category.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly sources.

 

Film, images and audio resources

Naxos Music Library

The world's largest online music library, Naxos, includes access to the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues. It covers jazz, pop & rock and well as classical music. Currently Naxos offers streaming to standard as well are rare repertoire.‚Äč