LibGuides: Biological, Chemical, Forensic, and Analytical Sciences: Drug and chemical information

General reference

Some of your assignments will require you to locate data (e.g. bioactivity data, physical properties etc) relating to a particular chemical substance.

There are a number of handbooks and databooks in the Library, which can be used for this purpose as well as numerous reputable online resources (see below).

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
(printed copy) Almost every data search on a chemical property should begin in the CRC.
ChemID Plus
A chemical dictionary and structure database.

ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
A free chemical structure database providing access to over 28 million structures, properties, and associated information.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Hazardous Substances Databank
Comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals.
Kaye and Laby's Table of Physical and Chemical Constants
Full text of Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants containing many data tables and fundamental constants.
Knovel Critical Tables
This interactive reference work contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties.
Merck Index
(printed copy) Covers basic physical data of boiling and melting points and densities; some spectral and LogP data
NIST Chemistry WebBook
free website providing reliable thermophysical and spectral data for a few thousand important compounds.

PubChem This link opens in a new window
Includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PubChem covers around 25 million chemical substances.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Drugs

British National Formulary (BNF) This link opens in a new window
This electronic resource aims to provide doctors, pharmacists and other health care professionals with sound, up-to-date information about the use of medicines. It provides key information on the prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines. Access to BNF online is free, but does require registration.
British Pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines. It is produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat, part of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA).

Clarke's analysis of drugs and poisons
Clarke's provides over 1700 entries detailing physical properties, analytical methods, pharmacokinetic data, ultraviolet, infra-red and mass spectra, and therapeutic and toxicity data of drugs and poisons.
Martindale: the complete drug reference
The Martindale database contains information on drugs in clinical use worldwide, as well as selected investigational and veterinary drugs, herbal medicines, pharmaceutical excipients, vitamins and nutritional agents, vaccines, radiopharmaceuticals, contrast media and diagnostic agents, medicinal gases, drugs of abuse and recreational drugs, toxic substances, disinfectants and pesticides.

Chemical Database Service

Physical Sciences Data-Science Service (PSDS) This link opens in a new window
a source of up-to-date chemistry databases, plus associated manipulation and display software. The available databases cover Crystallography, Spectroscopy, Thermophysical Properties, and Reactions and Molecules. Access is included to the SPRESI database, which provides information on 8.7 million organic structures, and 4.1 million reactions.

Subject guides

Biological, Chemical, Forensic, and Analytical Sciences: Drug and chemical information

General reference

Drugs

Chemical Database Service