Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the subject guide for Biological, Chemical, Forensic, and Analytical Sciences.
Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.
Recent book purchases
These titles have recently been added to the University of Huddersfield library collection:
Specialist eBook collections
A database of ebooks, including a collection of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering reference works. Search by subject 'keywords', or manipulate and extract data from live tables and graphs. Please be aware that some premium content is not available within our subscription.
FORENSICnetBASE / LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE
a collection of ebooks covering areas such as arson and fire investigation, forensics, and law enforcement.
Specialist journals databases
Add to the results you've identified on Summon by using these specialist journal databases to find quality articles for your assignments. The following databases provide details of relevant journal articles (usually including an abstract) and in some cases may also provide a link to the article itself.
For a full list of databases see our A-Z list of electronic resources.
For a list of the journals we have full-text access to see our A-Z list of journals.
A key database for Analytical Sciences, covering over 100 international journals from 1980 onwards. The full text of articles is available where we have a subscription.
This resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Journal Citation Reports
Offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.
Database that contains over 21 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
Includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PubChem covers around 25 million chemical substances.
Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Many of these PreMedline articles don't have abstracts, but this is one of the most up to date biomedical databases available. It also includes some links from references to full-text journals.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. NB. These do not appear in a Summon search.
Nature is ranked as the most highly cited interdisciplinary scientific journal in the world. Articles published in Nature from 1997 onwards are available via Summon, but if you want to access the most recent issue you should visit the Nature website.
Either browse content by date of publication, or use the 'advanced search' to ensure you are viewing articles which appear in Nature (we don't subscribe to the other titles from Nature Publishing Group)
Printed volumes of Nature (from 1895-2006) are available in the mobile shelving on floor 5 of the Library.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) referencing
The University of Huddersfield use the APA 7th style for referencing. If you are taking Chemical Sciences, you may be asked to reference in the RSC style. This is the official document from the Royal Society of Chemistry website:
Please ask your lecturers for more information about this as the library and academic skills tutors will be unable to advise you.