LibGuides: Computing and Information Systems: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the Library guide for Computing and Information Systems. You'll find links to some useful resources for your studies and ideas of where to go if you can't find what you need. Please get in touch if you'd like to see anything else!

Resources for academic reading and writing

Here are a few online resources that can help you improve your academic writing.

Learning how to read better
Tips on how to read and understand academic texts.
Manchester University's Academic Phrasebank
Provides examples of words and phrases that can be used when writing your dissertation.
BBC Academic Writing
Online tutorials developed by the BBC, to help you identify and use academic language.
Write Like a Scientist
Particularly useful for Applied Science or Computing and Engineering students. These video guides will help you develop skills for scientific and technical writing.
Two Minute Papers
YouTube channel providing enthusiastic coverage of recent research papers in computer science, mostly focusing on AI and 3D animation. A great introduction on how to read and understand research papers. What a time to be alive!

Library Computer Software

Adobe and Microsoft programmes are installed on all library computers as standard. Some specialist software is also available. For a full list, please see the library's website: What software is in the Library?

Key Resources

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search over 3 million items including all the IET (The Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals and conference papers.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides reports on a wide range of sectors including PC, laptop, tablet, mobile phone ownership/ usage, and mobile gaming attitudes and behaviours. Provides information such as market sizes, trends, consumer attitudes.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of every article published by ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) including over 50 years of archives.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals from subjects including technology, engineering, business and management.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Access free, online training on software, business and creative skills. Log in with your University of Huddersfield email address to access.
For more information and help about accessing and using LinkedIn Learning, please visit the HudHelp page

The Conversation
An independent news site that looks at the research behind current news topics. Excellent coverage of Science & Technology topics.
TED Talks
TED Talks are videos covering a wide range of topics. The goal for TED speakers is to present an interesting idea in 18 minutes or less.
POST research and briefings
The Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) produces impartial, non-partisan, and peer-reviewed briefings, designed to make scientific research accessible to the UK Parliament. Their research notes and briefing papers are all freely available to the public.

British Computer Society
BCS have a dedicated student section on their website that provides resources, skills, and opportunities to help with your studies and to develop your future career
Games Industry International
With over 100,000 users, Games Industry International has one of the largest recruitment databases for videogames-related roles so is a great website to register with when looking for a placement and/ or job. It also contains the latest new and opinions from the industry.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
NEW!! Market research reports on industries including software publishing, IT security consulting, and web design services.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, energy, retail, and travel & tourism. Provides information such as market sizes, trends, and segmentation.
Statista This link opens in a new window
NEW!! Numbers, data and facts on a wide range of topics
Passport This link opens in a new window
Marketing reports for markets worldwide, that provide statistical data on products, brands, industries, consumers, and countries.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, Business Source Complete also provides access to industry profiles and market research reports.
FAME This link opens in a new window
FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the U.K. & Republic of Ireland. Provides other company data including: contact details, brand names, number of employees, names of directors, subsidiaries.
Newspapers by ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search local, national and international newspapers, business press, and trade publications.

Finding Open Access research online

Below are some useful tools for finding Open Access research papers outside of Summon.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's search tool that allows you to find published research papers. Some of these will be open access, but for any that are paywalled, you can enable "Library Links" to get direct access via the University of Huddersfield's subscriptions.
Google Scholar Library Links screencast
Short screencast video showing how to enable Library Links in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar tips
Instructions on setting up Library Links in Google Scholar, and tips on getting the most out of Google Scholar.

Unpaywall
Browser plug-in that helps you find free, open access versions of academic papers that are behind paywalls.
LibKey Nomad
Browser plugin that finds versions of academic papers within your University library subscriptions.
EThOS: e-theses online service
Doctoral theses from almost all UK higher education institutions.
Core: Open Access research papers
Core is a dedicated search engine that searches only open access research papers.
Inter-Library Loans
If you need a paper that is not available through the Library, and you can't find a free version via any of the above sources, please request it from Inter-Library Loans. We will try to source a copy from another library on your behalf.

Subject Guide

Laura Woods

Email Me

Subjects: Computing and Engineering

Quick Links

Summon
Our search engine for finding print and online resources
Using the Library
Further guidance on our web pages
When is the library open?
Brightspace Induction Resource
Guide to Library and IT services, in the University-wide induction resource for new students.
Library Glossary
Some definitions of words we use in Computing & Library Services
Disability Support guide
AI guide
A guide to using artificial intelligence (AI) in your academic studies.
Referencing
A guide to the APA 7th style, which is the official University referencing standard
Book a group study room
Where can I get help?
Book an appointment with a librarian
If you need an in depth appointment with a librarian, use this link to book one.
ebooks
Guide to using ebooks at the University of Huddersfield
Newspapers
Guide to newspaper resources online
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Suggest a book
Form to request Library purchases a book not already in stock
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme

Subject guides

Computing and Information Systems: Home