Welcome to the library guide for Dental Hygiene and Dental Therapy.
Here you will find key databases for your subject, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.
Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.
Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.
If you have any questions about regisering for and accessing NHS resources using a specialist log in (i.e.one that is NOT your normal University log in), we have made instructions available here. For further guidance beyond registration, please refer to the School for support.
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers with indexing for 2,928 journals and more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.
Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Each resource in Medicines Complete was originally a printed reference work (book or set of books). You reference each title as an electronic book - see our APA 7th referencing guide for advice. See below, last updated September 2024.
Brayfield, A., & Cadart, C. (Eds.). (2024). Martindale: The complete drug reference. Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com
Hancock, B. C., Moss, G. P., & Goldfarb, D. J. (Eds.). (2024). Pharmaceutical excipients. Pharmaceutical Press; American Pharmacists Association. https://www.medicinescomplete.com
Joint Formulary Committee. (2024). British National Formulary. BMJ; Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com
Paediatric Formulary Committee. (2024). BNF for children. BMJ; Pharmaceutical Press; RCPCH Publications. https://www.medicinescomplete.com
Preston, C. L. (Ed.). Stockley’s drug interactions. Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com
Moffat, A. C., Osselton, M. D., & Elliott, S. P. (Eds). Clarke’s analysis of drugs and poisons. Pharmaceutical Press. https://www.medicinescomplete.com
Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is an archive of free-to-air TV and radio programmes available to you through the University of Huddersfield Library subscription. You can choose to watch previously recorded programmes, request future programmes and save lists of programmes for your learning, teaching or research.
Click on the tabs above for a series of instructional videos to take you through the basics of using Box of Broadcasts.
Click on this link to go direct to BoB. You can also access it from the A-Z list of electronic resources, and find BoB under the letter B.
You will be prompted to log in with your University login and password. The first time you access BoB, it will ask you to register your university email address (undergraduates and postgraduate taught students = u1234567@unimail.hud.ac.uk). You will need to confirm your address by checking your email and clicking on the link provided.
Here's a useful video from Learning on Demand who run Box of Broadcasts.
This short video shows you how to request TV and radio programmes to be recorded.
Box of Broadcasts provides extensive help on their website:
If you have any further questions, contact your Subject Librarian at the Help Centre on Floor 4 of the Library or email library@hud.ac.uk and we will be happy to help.
