Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
This is a Library guide for students studying English and Creative Writing.
Here you will find resources related to this subject area and guidance on literature searching.
Photo by Paul Domenick.
Recent book purchases
The following titles have recently been added to the University of Huddersfield Library collection:
We have a separate Newspaper guide which gives you lots of information about free and subscription resources.
These are a range of newspaper resources to which the Library subscribes. Some of which are not directly indexed in Summon. Hover over the link to find out more about each resource.
Gale Primary Sources
Search a wide range of historical resources, including newspapers and primary data.
Comprehensive access to news stories and other content from newspapers across the globe. Includes The Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) archives.
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Library Hub Discover
Online access to the content of 119 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues. Replaces the former Copac and SUNCAT service.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
Oxford English Dictionary
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both past and present.
A collection of reference works e.g. language dictionaries, subject dictionaries, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press.
A library of digital humanities and social sciences content; includes journals and books on film, theatre, and performing arts. [NB: Recent content may not appear in Summon but can be accessed through the database itself.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.