It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the Nursing library pages!
Here you'll find lots of information on how to find books and journal articles for your assignments, how to reference, and how to get help when you get stuck.
If you can't find what you need here or get stuck, use the contact information on the right of this page to get in touch with the library's Human and Health Sciences subject team. We'll get back to you as soon as we can.
Royal College of Nursing journals
The Library subscribes to a number of RCN titles in print and you can find these on our shelves. The RCN also provides a large collection of selected articles from all its publication online. However, the precise content of this collection regularly changes and for this reason we can’t provide access to the online content via Summon. All titles require University network login.
You can search through and access our RCN subscriptions, on or off campus by clicking here. The following are the titles we currently subscribe to:
If you are planning to research COVID-19 as an academic or as a research student, the following resource may be of use to you. It collates search strategies already carried out by NHS librarians to answer COVID-19 related research questions to help avoid duplication of searches.
You can find loads on Summon, but as nursing students, you are expected to get used to searching individual resources separately. The ones listed below are some of the key resources you'll want to use, but don't be afraid to try ones listed on other health subject guides if they are more specific to your topic (e.g. operating department practice or midwifery).
A huge collection of citations and articles specifically focussing on nursing and allied health content. Amongst its many search options you can specify the gender and age of the population. However, please note that it uses American terminology/spelling, so you may need to revise your spelling or use the 'Suggest subject terms' option in the advanced search to get the most relevant results.
What used to be called NHS Evidence, this resource is provided by NICE. It allows filtering of results by types of research, areas like public health and social care, and allows you to specify medicines.
More than a psychology resource, PsycINFO provides plenty of information for nurses and other allied health professions on mental health care, treatment and diagnosis. Almost all content indexed on it is peer-reviewed.
An excellent resource that allows you to find peer reviewed content. It also provides information on who has cited the articles you find. For help on using Scopus, there is an excellent guide at http://www.info.sciverse.com/scopus/scopus-training/how
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. NB. These do not appear in a Summon search.
The Injectable Medicines Guide (IMG), also known as Medusa, is an NHS project that aims to provide:
- Guidance on the preparation and administration of injectable medicines in adult and paediatric clinical areas
- A reference source for organisations preparing an injectable medicines administration policy.
This is the new point of access for Internurse and Intermid, providing a collection of nursing and midwifery journal titles, including the British Journal of Nursing, British Journal of Mental Health Nursing, and Nurse Prescribing.
Internet Explore 8, 9 and 10 are not compatible with this site.
Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is an archive of free-to-air TV and radio programmes available to you through the University of Huddersfield Library subscription. You can choose to watch previously recorded programmes, request future programmes and save lists of programmes for your learning, teaching or research.
Click on the tabs above for a series of instructional videos to take you through the basics of using Box of Broadcasts.
Click on this link to go direct to BoB. You can also access it from the A-Z list of electronic resources, and find BoB under the letter B.
You will be prompted to log in with your University login and password. The first time you access BoB, it will ask you to register your university email address (undergraduates and postgraduate taught students = email@example.com). You will need to confirm your address by checking your email and clicking on the link provided.
Here's a useful video from Learning on Demand who run Box of Broadcasts.