LibGuides: Paramedics: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for students on paramedic courses

Here you will find key databases, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.

Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.

Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.

Browzine

Referencing the JRCALC App

Joint Royal Colleges Ambulance Liaison Committee & Association of Ambulance Chief Executives. (2023). JRCALC Plus (Version 2.4) [Mobile app]. https://www.classprofessional.co.uk/digital-products/apps/jrcalc-plus-app/

Note that this is based on the latest version of the app; if you are using an older version you may need to change the title and or version number.

Your in text citation will be the full name of the organisation in the first case, with the acronym being used subsequently.

Example;

First instance; (Joint Royal Colleges Ambulance Liaison Committee & Association of Ambulance Chief Executives [JRCALC], 2023) OR Joint Royal Colleges Ambulance Liaison Committee & Association of Ambulance Chief Executives (JRCALC, 2023)

Subsequent; (JRCALC, 2023).

Key Resources

The main way to search for books, journal articles and more is by using Summon. However as part of your academic practice you will primarily need to use more specialist resources for your studies, particularly for final year projects, research and dissertations.

This list is not exhaustive, but includes the most important resources for your studies. Other named resources can be found in the full A-Z list at Electronic Resources.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers with indexing for 2,928 journals and more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Accessibility Statement
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Accessibility Statement
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
Accessibility Statement

British National Formulary
Provides information on the prescribing, dispensing, and administration of medicines.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s.
Accessibility Statement
PubMed This link opens in a new window
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.

Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy policy
If you are having trouble accessing Scopus or other Elsevier products such as SciVal or Knovel please try the following:
1. Use Incognito or Preview mode in a browser
2. Try another browser
3. Clear cache and cookies:
If you're still having issues please submit a case via the the Scopus Support Centre
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. This collection covers 1980 to 2012.
Accessibility Statement
TRIP Database Plus This link opens in a new window
Turning Research Into Practice is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professional to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Europe PMC This link opens in a new window
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to drug and healthcare references, including the British National Formulary, and Martindale.
Accessibility Statement

Journal of Paramedic Practice
Key journal for paramedic reading.
Health Profiles
Health profiles give a snapshot of public health data (e.g. obesity, infant mortality) for each local authority in England. They are produced every year.
Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Contains information and guidance for common conditions managed in primary care. Also a good source of patient leaflets.
UK National Statistics
Recent and upcoming official statistics published by the UK Government. You can search by publishing department (e.g. Department of Health), or by topic (e.g. public health).
Health and Social Care Information Centre
Official statistics on health and social care in the UK.
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
NICE Pathways
Interactive tool providing access to guidance from NICE, including quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical, public health and social care guidelines and NICE implementation tools. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. To REFERENCE a guideline/pathway in APA 6th, use the method detailed for official publications, where there is a section specifically for NICE
Evidently Cochrane
Evidently Cochrane aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible, and to encourage discussion about it, through weekly blogs, which usually feature new or updated Cochrane reviews on a health topic.
British Paramedic Journal
This is a resource accessible only to members of the College of Paramedics, and is not a University subscription.
NHS England Always Events
Provides tools and guidance to ensure patients and their families receive the best care and information.
Acadoodle
A collection of video tutorials, including a series on ECGs.
British Paramedic Journal
The British Paramedic Journal is committed to publishing high-quality research and increasing the evidence-base for the paramedic profession. As such, the scope of the journal is specific to topics that directly relate to paramedic practice both in the UK and internationally. If you are a member of the College of Paramedics, you can are entitled to free access to the journal. Simply visit the journal page on the College of Paramedics website.
Spotting the Sick Child
An interactive tool commissioned by the Department of Health and Health Education England to support health professionals in the assessment of the acutely sick child.

The Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC)
The HCPC set standards for healthcare professionals including paramedics from proviciency in the role to ensuring continuous professional development and education.
College of Paramedics
The recognised professional body for paramedics. Provides information on CPD and special events.
Yorkshire Ambulance Services
While a public facing website, it also provides a list of publications relating to the Service that may be useful for statistics and costing data.
King's Fund
Independent charity working to improve health and health care in England. Produces guidance and white papers on various aspects of health care.
Joint Royal Colleges Ambulance Liaison Committee (JRCALC) clinical practice guidelines
Evidence-based practice guidelines for paramedics (and all pre-hospital clinicians)
The Resuscitation Council guidelines
Evidence-based guidelines on resuscutation and life support.
British Thoracic Society guidelines on oxygen provision
These guidelines are specifically on prescribing and delivering oxygen in emergency care.
UK Sepsis Trust
Provides a number of useful resources for professional practice to ensure Sepsis is fully understood and diagnosed as early as possible.
NHS Leadership Academy
Tools and resources for self-development of leadership skills
CPDme
A portfolio builder specifically for emergency healthcare professionals. Individuals will need to pay for access.

These podcasts/resources can act as a resource for sharing knowledge, and for providing support for understanding the more emotional parts of the paramedic role.

Road to Resus podcast: podcasts on a variety of Emergency Medicine topics that you’ll use every day in and around the resus room, centered around evidenced based medicine and with reference to national and international guidelines.

Medics Academy Pre-Hospital Care podcast

Mind Blue Light Support: Mind, the mental health charity, have created a resource specifically for emergency services staff, to help provide support and develop resilience.

University of Huddersfield Wellbeing self-help resources: while you are a student at the University, you can take advantage of the resources provided by Student Services and the Library, including Big White Wall and a number of self-help books selected by Reading Well for Mental Health

Mind the Gap: Black and Brown Skin
A free resource providing images of conditions on darker skin tones. There is a book available to download on the site (which you would reference as normal), but the website is updated on a regular basis with new images.
The Freedom House Ambulance Service
The story of some of the world's first paramedics, based in Pittsburgh, and how the service developed from a means of transportation to hospital to pre-hospital medical care.
National Ambulance LGBT CPD resource
A set of toolkits with quizzes for understanding and supporting both trans patients and staff. Additional resources include a guide on care for people with HIV.
Skin Deep
Skin Deep is led by the international medical education team, Don’t Forget the Bubbles (DFTB) and the Royal London Hospital (RLH). The aim is to develop a free, open-access bank of high-quality photographs of medical conditions in a range of skin tones for use by both healthcare professionals and the public.

CPD resources

Principles for continuing professional development and lifelong learning in health and social care
A document prepared by the Interprofessional CPD and Lifelong Learning
UK Working Group setting out 5 principles for health and social care in the UK.

Subject Guide

Becky Whyley-Smith

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Business, Education and Law, Human and Health Sciences

Quick Links

When is the library open?
Brightspace guide to Library & IT Services
Log into Brightspace for this interactive module
Book a group study room
Inter library loans
How to request items not held at our University Library
Using other Libraries
How to visit other libraries, including using the SCONUL scheme
Where can I get help?
Computing & Library webpages

College of Paramedics documentation

The following documents are recommended by your course leader for referring to throughout your course and beyond.

Paramedic Career Framework 2017
An interactive document that supports paramedics in deciding which direction their career should take and how to follow that route.
Paramedic Curriculum Guidance Handbook 2019
Paramedic Postgraduate Curriculum Guide 2017
Both this and paramedic curriculum (non-postgrad) document provide guidance and support in progressing along the paramedic route utilising HE options.

Subject guides

Paramedics: Home