Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Searching for information for Physiotherapy
Welcome to the library guide for Physiotherapy.
Here you will find key databases, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.
Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.
Please contact us on email@example.com, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.
The main way to search for books, journal articles and more is by using Summon. However sometimes you may need to use more specialist resources for your studies, particularly for final year projects, research and dissertations.
Use the links below to access specialist information for your subject area - these resources may be harder to find via Summon, and Google won't find them at all!
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
REHABDATA, produced by the US National Rehabilitation Information Center, is a literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Some full text documents are available, others provide citations only so the user can find the full text via their own library.
A huge collection of citations and articles specifically focusing on nursing and allied health content. CINAHL is extremely powerful, providing a large number of options for specifying types of medical research, sources, and even the gender and age of the population. CINAHL uses American terminology/spelling, so you may need to revise your spelling or use the 'Suggest subject terms' option in the advanced search to get the most relevant results.
The Cochrane Collaboration is an international, independent, not-for-profit organisation of over 28,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide.
This is the health professionals equivalent of Summon containing both academic and practical information. You can conduct a standard search using keywords and then filter the results by types of information e.g. patient info or drugs info. It also allows you to search by specific topics and NICE guidance.
Social Care Online
Social Care Online is the UK's most extensive free database of social care information.
TRIP Database Plus
Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP) is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professional to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
British National Formulary (BNF)
The BNF provides key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines. Medicines generally prescribed in the UK are covered and those considered less suitable for prescribing are clearly identified.
This provides access to more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publishers web sites.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
PsycINFO provides information for allied health professions on mental health care, treatment and diagnosis.
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. NB. These do not appear in a Summon search.
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
National Rehabilitation Information Center
The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) collects and disseminates articles and reports, from research projects funded by the US National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). NIDRR funds more than 250 projects each year that conduct research on a wide range of issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.
Health profiles give a snapshot of public health data (e.g. obesity, infant mortality) for each local authority in England. They are produced every year.
Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Contains information and guidance for common conditions managed in primary care. Also a good source of patient leaflets.
Department of Health
Official website of the UK Department of Health. Contains recent news, and links to consultations, publications and statistics.
UK National Statistics
Recent and upcoming official statistics published by the UK Government. You can search by publishing department (e.g. Department of Health), or by topic (e.g. public health).
Office for National Statistics
The gateway to all UK national statistics. In the category menu, click "population" then "births and fertility" to see statistics on birth rates and other childbearing statistics, or click "health and social care", "specialist services", then "maternity and pregnancy services" for official statistics about maternity services.
Health and Social Care Information Centre
Official statistics on health and social care in the UK.
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
Interactive tool providing access to guidance from NICE, including quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical, public health and social care guidelines and NICE implementation tools. To REFERENCE a guideline/pathway in APA 6th, use the method detailed under 'official publications - NICE'
Evidently Cochrane aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible, and to encourage discussion about it, through weekly blogs, which usually feature new or updated Cochrane reviews on a health topic.
Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
Professional, educational and trade union body for the UK's 51,000 chartered physiotherapists, physiotherapy students and support workers.
Independent charity working to improve health and health care in England. Produces guidance and white papers on various aspects of health care.
Free physiotherapy journal
Box of Broadcasts
Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is an archive of free-to-air TV and radio programmes available to you through the University of Huddersfield Library subscription. You can choose to watch previously recorded programmes, request future programmes and save lists of programmes for your learning, teaching or research.
Click on the tabs above for a series of instructional videos to take you through the basics of using Box of Broadcasts.
Click on this link to go direct to BoB. You can also access it from the A-Z list of electronic resources, and find BoB under the letter B.
You will be prompted to log in with your University login and password. The first time you access BoB, it will ask you to register your university email address (undergraduates and postgraduate taught students = firstname.lastname@example.org). You will need to confirm your address by checking your email and clicking on the link provided.
Here's a useful video from Learning on Demand who run Box of Broadcasts.
This short video shows you how to request TV and radio programmes to be recorded.
Box of Broadcasts provides extensive help on their website:
Frequently asked questions
How to use BoB videos
If you have any further questions, contact your Subject Librarian at the Help Centre on Floor 4 of the Library or email email@example.com and we will be happy to help.