Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top UK government websites for politics
Hansard (the Official Report) is the edited verbatim (word for word) report of proceedings of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Daily Debates from Hansard are published on this website the next working day at 6am. Commons debates are available from November 1988 and Lords debates from 1995-96
MySociety Hansard Search
A more "user friendly" way of searching Hansard by topic with options to refine your search by date, individual or Hansard section or column number.
UK Parliament website with information about the House of Commons and House of Lords. Includes legislation, bills, committee information, publications and records.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
National Archives UK government web archive
This site has been set up to preserve web material. The archive is useful for trying to locate material which may have disappeared or been removed from 'live' UK government websites.
Welcome to the Library's Politics Subject Guide!
Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the wealth of resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Online Resources for Politics
Scopus is a database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles. It covers nearly 18,000 international journal titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields. Scopus also offers author profiles which cover affiliations, number of publications and their bibliographic data, references and details on the number of citations each published document has received.
British Political Speech Archive
A great resource developed by Swansea University. It lists all major speeches for Conservative, Labour and Liberal/Liberal Democrat Party leaders from 1895 onwards. Where possible transcripts are available. The site also offers guidance on studying political rhetoric.
Policy Commons is a one-stop hub providing access to nearly 2.5 million public policy documents from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks and research centres.
State Papers Online Part 1: 1509-1603
State Papers Online Part One, 1509-1603 is a searchable archive of 16th- and 17th-century State Papers. Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council for research and teaching projects in politics, government, and social, economic, and religious history.
Provides the full text of articles in daily and Sunday newspapers published in the U.K. as well as a number of trade publications.
NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale’s range of historical newspaper collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers and 19th Century UK Periodicals.
Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
Free, online edition of six UK nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers, including the Northern Star (1838-1852) and The Leader (1850-1859). Background information on each title is also available.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A free website maintained by the Library of Congress. Visitors can search hundreds of full text newspapers from 1860-1922. The site also has information about American newspapers from 1690 onwards.
Northern Ireland Official Publications Archive
NIOPA is fully searchable with browsing and full text functionality and, as a digital archive of Northern Ireland official publications, makes documents available to support the research community, government departments and the wider public.
National Data Collections
UK National Statistics
The official website for the Office for National Statistics and the UK Statistics Authority. Topics covered include Crime and Justice, Government, Health and Social Care and People and Places.
British Social Attitudes
Each year NatCen's British Social Attitudes survey asks around 3,000 people what it's like to live in Britain and what they think about how Britain is run. The survey measures and tracks changes in people's social, political and moral attitudes.
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
UK Data Service Data Skills Modules
These introductory level interactive modules are designed for users who want to get to grips with keys aspects of survey, longitudinal and aggregate data.
UK Data Archive
The UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities, including data from the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and the National Archive.
Public Information Films from the UK National Archive
Free access to a collection of UK government public information films from 1945 to the early 21st century.