LibGuides: Psychology & Counselling: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the Library's Psychology & Counselling Subject Guide!

Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the wealth of resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.

Online Resources for Psychology & Counselling

PsycInfo
PsycINFO is an abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s.

PsycArticles
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.

Accessibility Statement

CINAHL
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL provides indexing for nearly 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Scopus
Scopus is a database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles. It covers nearly 18,000 international journal titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields. Scopus also offers author profiles which cover affiliations, number of publications and their bibliographic data, references and details on the number of citations each published document has received.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
ProQuest NewsStand
Provides the full text of articles in daily and Sunday newspapers published in the U.K. as well as a number of trade publications.

Websites of professional organisations

British Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy
The BACP is the largest professional body representing counselling and psychotherapy in the UK. Their website is a mine of professional information and includes the BACP Register.
British Psychological Society
The British Psychological Society is the professional body which represents many psychologists. It aims to promote excellence and ethical practice in the science, education and practical applications of psychology.