Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the Library's Social Work Subject Guide!
Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the wealth of resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.
National Data Collections
UK National Statistics
The official website for the Office for National Statistics and the UK Statistics Authority. Topics covered include Crime and Justice, Government, Health and Social Care and People and Places.
British Social Attitudes
Each year NatCen's British Social Attitudes survey asks around 3,000 people what it's like to live in Britain and what they think about how Britain is run. The survey measures and tracks changes in people's social, political and moral attitudes.
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
UK Data Service Data Skills Modules
These introductory level interactive modules are designed for users who want to get to grips with keys aspects of survey, longitudinal and aggregate data.
UK Data Archive
The UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities, including data from the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and the National Archive.
Public Information Films from the UK National Archive
Free access to a collection of UK government public information films from 1945 to the early 21st century.
Online Resources for Social Work
Community Care Inform
Community Care Inform is an online resource designed to help professionals working with children and young people make and evidence their decisions.
Community Care Inform Adults
The adult version of the popular Community Care Inform resource.
Scopus is a database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles. It covers nearly 18,000 international journal titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields. Scopus also offers author profiles which cover affiliations, number of publications and their bibliographic data, references and details on the number of citations each published document has received.
Social Care Online
Social Care Online is produced by the Social Care Institute for Excellence and is the UK's most extensive free database of social care information. The database includes research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, events and websites.
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
Social Welfare at the British Library
A new free online service from the British Library offering a single point of access to the BL's vast print and digital collections on social welfare and social policy. Items not available in full text online can be ordered by interlibrary loan.
Journal of Adult Protection
This journal offers access to research, viewpoints and commentary on current policy in the field of adult protection and safeguarding adults. It is the only journal to address developments across all adult services user groups in adult protection and safeguarding vulnerable adults.
Oxford Reference Online
A large collection of reference works e.g. language dictionaries, subject dictionaries, encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press. A good place to start for a definition, or for general overviews of many topics.
Provides the full text of articles in daily and Sunday newspapers published in the U.K. as well as a number of trade publications.