LibGuides: Speech and Language Therapy: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for students on Speech and Language Therapy courses

Here you will find key databases, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.

Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.

Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.

Browzine

Key Resources

The main way to search for books, journal articles and more is by using Summon. However as part of your academic practice you will primarily need to use more specialist resources for your studies, particularly for final year projects, research and dissertations.

This list is not exhaustive, but includes the most important resources for your studies. Other named resources can be found in the full A-Z list at Electronic Resources.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers with indexing for 2,928 journals and more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.

Accessibility Statement
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Accessibility Statement
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
Accessibility Statement
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s.
Accessibility Statement
PubMed This link opens in a new window
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.

Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Accessibility Statement
TRIP Database Plus This link opens in a new window
Turning Research Into Practice is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professional to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Europe PMC This link opens in a new window
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC covers education journals internationally, but from an American perspective. A larger database than British Education Index, ERIC begins in 1965.
Accessibility Statement
British Education Index (BEI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most widely used British abstracting and indexing tool for searching educational journals.
Accessibility Statement

Public Health Outcomes
PHOs give a snapshot of public health data (e.g. obesity, infant mortality) for each local authority in England. They are produced every year.
UK National Statistics
Recent and upcoming official statistics published by the UK Government. You can search by publishing department (e.g. Department of Health), or by topic (e.g. public health).
Health and Social Care Information Centre
Official statistics on health and social care in the UK.
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
NICE Pathways
Interactive tool providing access to guidance from NICE, including quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical, public health and social care guidelines and NICE implementation tools. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. To REFERENCE a guideline/pathway in APA 6th, use the method detailed for official publications, where there is a section specifically for NICE
Evidently Cochrane
Evidently Cochrane aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible, and to encourage discussion about it, through weekly blogs, which usually feature new or updated Cochrane reviews on a health topic.
NHS England Always Events
Provides tools and guidance to ensure patients and their families receive the best care and information.

Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists
The RCSLT provide news and training opportunities. Free student membership (including a subscription to the RCSLT journal, Bulletin) is available through the website.
The Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC)
The HCPC set standards for healthcare professionals including paramedics from proviciency in the role to ensuring continuous professional development and education.
King's Fund
Independent charity working to improve health and health care in England. Produces guidance and white papers on various aspects of health care.
NHS Leadership Academy
Tools and resources for self-development of leadership skills

CPD resources

Principles for continuing professional development and lifelong learning in health and social care
A document prepared by the Interprofessional CPD and Lifelong Learning
UK Working Group setting out 5 principles for health and social care in the UK.