Welcome to the library guide for students on Speech and Language Therapy courses
Here you will find key databases, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.
Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.
Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.
The main way to search for books, journal articles and more is by using Library Search. However as part of your academic practice you will primarily need to use more specialist resources for your studies, particularly for final year projects, research and dissertations.
This list is not exhaustive, but includes the most important resources for your studies. Other named resources can be found in the full A-Z list at Electronic Resources.
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers with indexing for 2,928 journals and more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
An abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s.
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.
Please note: the Institutional login option via University of Huddersfield isn’t supported and if you wish to create an account you should choose one of the alternative options i.e. Google or Microsoft.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
As students attending a course that includes placements, you might find yourself unable to visit or use the library resources on campus. Attending a placement (or living outside of the Huddersfield postcode) entitles you to use some of the distance learning support services. A comprehensive guide to support can be found here:
