Skip to Main Content

Subject guides

Students at Partner Organisations: Databases

A guide for students not based at the main University campus, and attending one of our partner institutions.

Accessing Databases

As partner institutions you will have access to a wide range of our databases, not just books, journal articles and newspapers, but a range of more specialist resources too. Here are some of the most popular.

EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform providing access to a comprehensive range of databases from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases including:

  • Business Source Complete: covers management, marketing, finance, accounting, economics and international business and provides access to articles, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
    Business
    Computing and Engineering

  • CINAHL: a huge collection of citations and articles specifically focusing on nursing and allied health content.
    Human & Health Sciences

  • Education Abstracts: provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983.
    Education

ProQuest provides a cross searchable collection of resources with access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and other publications in a number of databases including:

  • ABI/INFORM: thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, research reports, and downloadable data.
    Business

  • Art, Design and Architecture Collection: comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including architecture, interior design, contemporary art, and photography.
    Arts and Humanities
    Computing and Engineering

  • PsycINFO: systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
    Applied Sciences

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Applied Sciences
Arts and Humanities
Business
Computing and Engineering
Education
Human & Health Sciences

The library Subject Guides contain helpful links and information on subject specific databases and other resources.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning

All students, staff and researchers can access free online learning courses on LinkedIn Learning. You could take a range of courses to develop your personal, professional, technical or creative skills. You can even add certifications to your LinkedIn profile to show to potential employers after university!

See our guide to LinkedIn Learning for more information about how to register.

Statistics

Naxos Music Library

Oxford Reference Materials

Digimap

British Library Sounds

BBC Shakespeare Archive

Database restrictions

Some of our subject specific databases may not be available to partner institutions, including but not limited to market research databases, some law resources, and some engineering resources. We ensure that all resources identified as being core to your course are available, at the stage your course is approved by the university. If you find something you cannot access, but you think is vital for your studies, your first step should be to contact your library, LRC or course tutor as they are responsible for the resources for your course and may be able to suggest alternatives. If in doubt, please contact us at library@hud.ac.uk.