The Music Library contains a wide variety of resources for studying Music: these include books, journals, scores and CDs There are also computers, CD listening stations, individual study carrels, study tables, study rooms, listening rooms and a finishing studio.
Where are the music books?
The music books are mainly located in the Music Library on floor 5. However, the books in the Library are arranged by Dewey Decimal Class Number so you may have to use other floors if the Library. The sequence starts on floor 6 and ends on floor 2.
Where are the DVDs?
The DVDs are held in a separate collection on floor 2 of the library. They are filed by Dewey Decimal Class Number. They also have filing letters which is usually the author/composer of the material on the DVD. However feature films are filed by film title.
How do I find the books on my reading list?
Most modules have a reading list. Each list links to books, journal articles, scores, sound recordings and other resources that you will be expected to read and listen to in order to complete the module. To access module reading lists please log in to BrightSpace through the student portal.
What is Library Search?
Library Search is our new search engine, that recently replaced Summon. Library Search gives you access to books, ebooks, journal articles, CDs, DVDs and scores that we have in the Library and online. To search for items located on the Music Library shelves select 'physical items in the library' from the refining tools on the left-hand side of the screen once you have your search results.
What if I can't find a book on the shelf?
If the book is not on loan, it may be waiting to be reshelved. There are trolleys on each floor for this, including in the Music Library. Or it might be that the book is being used by another student in the library. If you have checked everywhere and you still cannot find it please ask a member of staff at the Help Desk on floor 4 to help you.
How do I find books on a particular topic?
To make your search more specific you can use more than one keyword enclosed in speech marks e.g. "clarinet music". This will search for the words as a phrase. Next check that the item is on the shelf and note down the class number and floor number to find it on the shelves.
How do I find journal articles for music technology topics?
If you are looking for a specific journal article you will have all the information you need. Use the Journals link on the front page of Library Search to check that we have access to the journal, then look for the volume number, issue number and page numbers. You will need to use your University username and password to access full text online.
If you are looking for articles on a wider topic you can type this into the search box on the front page of Library Search. This will bring up a list of resources on that topic. Use the refining tools on the left of the screen to narrow down your search. When you have found the article that you want click on the title to view the article. You will need to use your University username and password to access full text online.
How do I use the electronic resources or databases on Library Search?
If you know the name of the electronic resource or database that you want to use you can look it up on the A-Z list. You can narrow this list by selecting your School under the Subjects heading. Then select the one you wish to use. You will now be able to search this e-resource or database individually. Some of the most commonly used e-resources and databases are also located on the front page of this library guide.
