Skip to main content

Subject guides

Music Technology (Department of Music): Home

A guide to support the study of music technology in the Music Department

Support for studying at home [COVID-19]

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* 

In addition to this library guide for your subject, please see our Library Guide to Services for Studying at Home. These pages have been created to help you to use library services online whilst the physical University Library is closed as part of the national emergency response to COVID-19.

You may also find our COVID-19 FAQs helpful.

Introduction

This is a library guide for students studying Music Technology.

BA (Hons) Creative Music Technology – Bath Spa University

Here you will find resources related to this subject area and guidance on literature searching.

General Resources

ProQuest Ebook Central

Our biggest collection of Electronic books, Ebook Central, lets you search for titles on your subject area, view the full text online and copy and print out extracts.  Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.

International Newsstream (ProQuest)

International Newsstream provides information from the world's top new resources. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly which means that there is detailed information on sports, business and the arts as well as the top news stories of the day. Citations and abstracts are available for all articles.

Jisc Library Hub Discover (formerly COPAC)

Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries. This new service replaces Copac and SUNCAT, providing access to a growing range of library catalogues, with a new interface style and updated search facilities, with more changes in the pipeline. It is a well regarded and trusted source. It can help you to verify bibliographic information and find rare and unique material. Jisc Library Hub Discover doesn't have any resources itself so you may have to use the Inter-library loans service to obtain items that you find listed here.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a trusted online digital library of over 1,000 academic journals, books and primary sources on a variety of subjects.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together 2 million digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Compnaions and Encyclopedias. It includes 25 subject areas with over 69,000 entries on music.

 

Specialist Resources

AES (Audio Engineering Society)

The Audio Engineering Society is the only professional society devoted exlusively to audio technology. Its resources include journals, conference papers, online tutorials, industry standards documents and technical specialist publications.

BFI Screenonline (British Film Institute)

BFI Screenonline) is the definitive guide to Britain's film and TV history. It covers a wide range of topics and genres and includes video clips of films.

British Library Sounds

The British Library's extensive collections of sound recording which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound, including music, drama & literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Cambridge Companions to Music

The Cambridge Companions to Music  are a series of books 12and ebooks about composers, musical instruments or music topics. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive reference material in an accessible style.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

The Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is a rich research resource that contains primary sources for the study of the history of film and entertainment industries from vaudeville to 2000 including the music business, rock and pop, jazz and blues and radio.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online with over a million tracks of classical music, jazz, world music and folk music.

LinkedIn Learning (formally Lynda.com) Online Software Training

An online training library that provides access to 1000 courses and over 60,000 tutorials including Logic, Live, Native Instruments software and Sibelius as well as detailed but more general audio topics (such as EQ). 

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is a comprehensive music reference resource which has Grove Music Online at it's heart along with The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. It includes over 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies on composers, performers, conductors, instruments, musical works and genres.

Rock's Back Pages

The ultimate archive of music journalism with over 25,000 articles on artists and all genres by the finest music writers of the last 50 years.

 

Subject Guide

Quick Links