Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the subject guide for Optometry and Vision Sciences in the School of Applied Sciences.
Photo by Eugen Aschenbrenner on Unsplash
Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.
You can search Summon for journal articles subscribed to by the University of Huddersfield, but it is also useful to keep an eye on specific journals in your specific subject. You can browse the following titles so you can keep up-to-date with the latest research in the field:
The optician - current website / archive (Dec. 2003 - Dec. 2015)
Optometry today - current website
Recent book purchases
The following has been recently added to the University of Huddersfield Library collection:
Primarily a collection of systematic reviews, but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive collection of materials for evidence based practice.
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.
A collection of reference works e.g. language dictionaries, subject dictionaries, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
A database of peer-reviewed laboratory methods in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Written by experts in the field, all protocols are reviewed for clarity and accuracy before publication. This collection covers 1980 to 2012.
Statutory body responsible for the professional regulation of optometrists and dispensing opticians in the UK. They have specific guidance for students.
The College is the professional body for optometrists. It qualifies the profession and delivers the guidance, development and training to ensure optometrists provide the best possible care. They have specific information for students.
The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is a membership organisation for optometrists and other optical professionals. They have advice for students.