LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Home

Introduction

Welcome to the library guide for Occupational Therapy.

Here you will find the key databases to use for your subject, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.

Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.

Please contact us on library@hud.ac.uk, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.

Key Resources

OTseeker
This database contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist users to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Community Care Inform Adults
Provides resources to help Social Workers and social care professionals make evidence-based decisions, including: guidance to legislation, articles, and practice guides.

Accessibility Statement
Community Care Inform Children
Contains resources to help professionals working with children and young people, including: guidance to legislation, articles, and practice guides.

Accessibility Statement
CINAHL Ultimate
A huge collection of citations and articles specifically focusing on nursing and allied health content. CINAHL is extremely powerful, providing a large number of options for specifying types of medical research, sources, and even the gender and age of the population. CINAHL uses American terminology/spelling, so you may need to revise your spelling or use the 'Suggest subject terms' option in the advanced search to get the most relevant results.

Accessibility Statement
MEDLINE
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.

Accessibility Statement
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Collaboration is an international, independent, not-for-profit organisation of over 28,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide.

Accessibility Statement
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides information for allied health professions on mental health care, treatment and diagnosis. Almost all content indexed on it is peer-reviewed.

Accessibility Statement
TRIP Database Plus
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
PubMed
This provides access to more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publishers web sites.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement
Scopus
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
If you are having trouble accessing Scopus or other Elsevier products such as SciVal or Knovel please try the following:
1. Use Incognito or Preview mode in a browser
2. Try another browser
3. Clear cache and cookies:
If you're still having issues please submit a case via the the Scopus Support Centre

Accessibility Statement
Privacy policy
Europe PMC
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

BNF (British National Formulary)
The BNF aims to provide prescribers, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals with sound up-to-date information about the use of medicines. To reference the BNF see guidance below.

Health Profiles
Health profiles give a snapshot of public health data (e.g. obesity, infant mortality) for each local authority in England. They are produced every year.
Clinical Knowledge Summaries
Contains information and guidance for common conditions managed in primary care. Also a good source of patient leaflets.
Department of Health and Social Care
Official website of the UK Department of Health and Social Care. Contains recent news, and links to consultations, publications and statistics.
UK National Statistics
Recent and upcoming official statistics published by the UK Government. You can search by publishing department (e.g. Department of Health), or by topic (e.g. public health).
UK Data Service
A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others which makes it the UK's largest collection of digital social research data. Includes Census data from 1971 to 2011.
Evidently Cochrane
Evidently Cochrane aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible, and to encourage discussion about it, through weekly blogs, which usually feature new or updated Cochrane reviews on a health topic.
Fingertips public health profiles
Government website providing a wide range of public health data, including at local authority level

Royal College of Occupational Therapists
Formed from the British Association of Occuptional Therapists and College of Occupational Therapists, the Royal College of Occupational Therapists is the professional accreditation body for Occupational Therapists in the UK.
Professional Standards for Occupational Therapy Practice
Standards produced by the College of Occupational Therapists for and on behalf of the British Association of Occupational Therapists.
European Network of Occupational Therapists in Higher Education
World Federation of Occupational Therapists
American Occupational Therapy Association
Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
King's Fund
Independent charity working to improve health and health care in England. Produces guidance and white papers on various aspects of health care.

Searching for medical images

Open-i Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.

Referencing the BNF

To create a reference for the print BNF, please refer to the 'reference books' section of the referencing guide.
To create a reference for the web version e.g. on NICE, follow the following style (based on the guide's webpage referencing):

British National Formulary. (2024). Vacuum assisted closure products. NICE. https://bnf.nice.org.uk/wound-management/vacuum-assisted-closure-products.html

If you are still having difficulties creating the reference, contact us at library@hud.ac.uk

Occupational Therapy

Subject Guide

Quick Links

Introduction

Key Resources

Searching for medical images

Referencing the BNF

Browzine