Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the Library guide for the Science Extended Degree Programme.
Are you looking for the latest information on Library resources and services? Here you will find details of the wealth of resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information, and where to go for further help and support.
Image by 200 Degrees from Pixabay
Specialist journal databases
Add to the results you've identified on Summon by using these specialist journal databases to find quality articles for your assignments. The following databases provide details of relevant journal articles (usually including an abstract) and in some cases may also provide a link to the article itself.
One of the most up-to-date biomedical databases available. Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Includes some links from references to full-text journals.
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
SciFinder provides access to the world's largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. IMPORTANT - First time users will need to register to obtain personal login details to access Scifinder via this link: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=FD1BCA35X86F350ABX725221FB31B2E5FB02
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
To find out if the Library stocks a particular journal title, search our A-Z List of Journals.
For a full list of databases see our A-Z list of electronic resources.
Box of Broadcasts
Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is an archive of free-to-air TV and radio programmes available to you through the University of Huddersfield Library subscription. You can choose to watch previously recorded programmes, request future programmes and save lists of programmes for your learning, teaching or research.
Click on the tabs above for a series of instructional videos to take you through the basics of using Box of Broadcasts.
Click on this link to go direct to BoB. You can also access it from the A-Z list of electronic resources, and find BoB under the letter B.
You will be prompted to log in with your University login and password. The first time you access BoB, it will ask you to register your university email address (undergraduates and postgraduate taught students = firstname.lastname@example.org). You will need to confirm your address by checking your email and clicking on the link provided.
Here's a useful video from Learning on Demand who run Box of Broadcasts.
This short video shows you how to request TV and radio programmes to be recorded.
Box of Broadcasts provides extensive help on their website:
Frequently asked questions
How to use BoB videos
If you have any further questions, contact your Subject Librarian at the Help Centre on Floor 4 of the Library or email email@example.com and we will be happy to help.