Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the library guide for Sport, Exercise and Nutrition.
Here you will find key databases for your subject, along with links to other useful information, such as government websites and statistics.
Use the "help with searching" tab above to view guides on how to use the library's databases.
Please contact us on firstname.lastname@example.org, or come and see us at the Subject Enquiry Desk on Floor 4 of the Library, if you need any help with finding information.
British Education Index (BEI)
Provides details of over 300 education and training related journals published in the UK, reports and conference literature and working papers. All areas of education are covered, from educational policy and administration to technology and special educational needs dating back to 1975.
ERIC covers education journals internationally, from an American perspective. A larger database than British Education Index, ERIC begins in 1965.
Based on the LA84 Foundation Library, set up after the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games, this growing collection contains more than 100,000 files relating primarily to the Olympic games and associated sports. It includes popular sports magazines dating back to the late 19th and early 20th Centuries.
This is a psychology database which is useful for finding information regarding the psychology of sport, mentoring and training.
A huge collection of citations and articles specifically focusing on nursing and allied health content. CINAHL is extremely powerful, providing a large number of options for specifying types of medical research, sources, and even the gender and age of the population. CINAHL uses American terminology/spelling, so you may need to revise your spelling or use the 'Suggest subject terms' option in the advanced search to get the most relevant results.
The Cochrane Collaboration is an international, independent, not-for-profit organisation of over 28,000 contributors from more than 100 countries, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care readily available worldwide.
This is the health professionals equivalent of Summon containing both academic and practical information. You can conduct a standard search using keywords and then filter the results by types of information e.g. patient info or drugs info. It also allows you to search by specific topics and NICE guidance. Evidence search is a new resource and will be continually updated.
This provides access to more than 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publishers web sites.
TRIP Database Plus
Turning Research Into Practice is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professional to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe.
WHO: Physical Activity
The World Health Organisation (WHO) has a useful website about physical activity.
This free website has advice for the public on physical activity for health and wellbeing.
NICE guidelines on physical activity
NICE guideline on promoting physical activity for children and young people.
UK National Statistics
Recent and upcoming official statistics published by the UK Government. You can search by publishing department (e.g. Department of Health), or by topic (e.g. public health).
Department of Health
Official website of the UK Department of Health. Contains recent news, and links to consultations, publications and statistics.
Health profiles give a snapshot of public health data (e.g. life expectancy, obesity) for each local authority in England. They are produced every year.
Healthy Schools toolkit
Toolkit produced by the Department for Education, to help schools plan and put in place health and wellbeing improvements for their children.
Evidently Cochrane aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible, and to encourage discussion about it, through weekly blogs, which usually feature new or updated Cochrane reviews on a health topic.
Box of Broadcasts
Box of Broadcasts (also known as BoB) is an archive of free-to-air TV and radio programmes available to you through the University of Huddersfield Library subscription. You can choose to watch previously recorded programmes, request future programmes and save lists of programmes for your learning, teaching or research.
Click on the tabs above for a series of instructional videos to take you through the basics of using Box of Broadcasts.
Click on this link to go direct to BoB. You can also access it from the A-Z list of electronic resources, and find BoB under the letter B.
You will be prompted to log in with your University login and password. The first time you access BoB, it will ask you to register your university email address (undergraduates and postgraduate taught students = email@example.com). You will need to confirm your address by checking your email and clicking on the link provided.
Here's a useful video from Learning on Demand who run Box of Broadcasts.
This short video shows you how to request TV and radio programmes to be recorded.
Box of Broadcasts provides extensive help on their website:
Frequently asked questions
How to use BoB videos
If you have any further questions, contact your Subject Librarian at the Help Centre on Floor 4 of the Library or email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will be happy to help.