LibGuides: Management & Business: Market &amp; industry research

Finding market research

Market research, from reputable sources, is usually not freely available. We subscribe to several sources of commercial market intelligence, which can help you to understand markets and industries.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel & tourism.
Accessibility Statement
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Expert industry market research reports, statistics, analysis, data, trends and forecasts. Coverage of industrial as well as consumer markets.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers easy-to-search statistics and reports on a wide range of topics including: digital & trends; society; consumers; brands; industries; markets; companies
Passport This link opens in a new window
Global statistics and reports on markets, industries, economies, and consumers.
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, Business Source Complete also provides access to industry profiles and market research reports from MarketLine.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
In addition to journal articles, ABI/INFORM Complete provides access to industry and market research reports from Business Monitor International & First Research.

British Library resources

Industry research guides from the British Library
Offers downloadable guides to researching key industries.

Management and Business Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the British Library, this portal contains full-text reports, working papers, videos and articles produced by management researchers, consultants, and government bodies.

Books

Market Research in Practice (ebook) by Paul N. Hague; Nicholas Hague; Carol-Ann Morgan
ISBN: 9780749468651
Publication Date: 2013
Company and Industry Research (ebook) by Hiromi Kubo; Thomas J. Ottaviano
ISBN: 9781631570384
Publication Date: 2016

Referencing tips: Market research and company reports

Use the reference builder for reports.
You need to reference the author, year, report title, and URL. e.g. Mintel. (2023). Sustainability in food – UK – 2023. https://www.mintel.com
The author is often the name of the resource, e.g. FAME, Mintel. The author of Passport (if no named author) is EuroMonitor. The author of Business Source Complete reports varies - company and industry profiles are often by MarketLine.
The year can usually be found near the title of the report. Check this is up-to-date enough for your needs before using. For statistical data taken from FAME/Orbis VL/Passport, use the current year.

Help with market research

Selected help guides are linked below. All the database homepages also have their own help pages which have the most up-to-date user guides and videos - we recommend you make use of these.

Conducting and using market research

Getting started with business databases
This guide has been created by your subject librarians to help get you started in using some of our specialist business databases for finding market research and company information.

Marketing Mentor
Guides to conducting effective market research, including market, competitor and consumer analysis.

Using market research in a business plan
(added with permission from Mintel)

Mintel

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel & tourism.
Accessibility Statement

Mintel reports user guide
Explains how to navigate Mintel reports.

Passport

Passport This link opens in a new window
This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives you strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all your products across all your key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.
Privacy Statement
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.

How to export statistics from Passport to Excel

Bitesize business databases

There have been some changes to the Passport interface since we produced Bitesize Passport. See the video below or the Passport help pages for details or email library@hud.ac.uk for further support.

Changes to Passport interface video:

Subject guides

Management & Business: Market & industry research