LibGuides: Management & Business: Company information

Finding company information

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A full-text business database, covering management, marketing, finance, accounting, economics and international business. In addition to journal articles, this database provides access to company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Accessibility Statement
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, research reports, and downloadable data
Accessibility Statement
Passport This link opens in a new window
This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives you strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all your products across all your key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.
Privacy Statement
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.
Statista This link opens in a new window
The renowned statistics database is well-known and acknowledged throughout the world as basis for fast and comprehensive search for numbers, data, and facts. Explore the whole world through numbers with Statista
Accessibility Statement

Companies House (UK Government)
Official register of UK publicly listed companies. Contains information these companies are legally obliged to publish including registered address and date of incorporation, current and resigned officers, limited accounts data. A good place to start if you want to find out if the UK company you are researching is publicly listed.

Company accounts

FAME This link opens in a new window
Provides accounts (10 years) for over 3 million companies in the UK and Republic of Ireland. Plus, company contact details, brand names, no. of employees, and names of directors.

Please note: FAME is licenced for education, teaching, tuition, training, instruction, learning, private study and/or research only. Use for university business processes (including Business Development, Marketing and Alumni Offices) are prohibited.
Accessibility Statement
Orbis VL This link opens in a new window
Orbis is Bureau van Dijk ’s global database which has information on over 450 million public and private companies including, banks, vessels, insurance, and industrial companies covering 220+ countries.

It is a tool that specialises in private company data, containing active and inactive companies with up to ten years of financial data available.
Accessibility Statement
Our subscription provides data on very large companies (VL), defined as follows:
• operating revenue >= $130 million US (100 million EUR)
• total assets >= $260 million US (200 million EUR)
• number of employees >= 1000

Company news

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to news stories and other content from newspapers across the globe. Includes The Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) archives.
Accessibility Statement

Financial Times - FT.com
See our guide to registering for your FT.com online account in the box on the homepage.

Websites

AnnualReports.com
The best place to find company annual reports and statements is on the company's own website, where they should be freely available. However, some students find this website useful in guiding them to annual reports. Please note the reports on here may not be the most-up-to date. If you are asked by this site to pay for a report, be aware that it should be available for free on the company's own website. If required, you can ask a librarian for help in finding these by emailing library@hud.ac.uk
Europages
A directory of over 1 million companies in Europe. Providing contact details, brand names, and web addresses.

Help with finding company information

Selected help guides are linked below. All the database homepages also have their own help pages which have the most up-to-date user guides and videos - we recommend you make use of these.

Getting started with business databases
This guide has been created by your subject librarians to help get you started in using some of our specialist business databases for finding market research and company information.

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel & tourism.
Accessibility Statement

Mintel reports user guide
Explains how to navigate Mintel reports.

Passport This link opens in a new window
This online market research tool monitors industry trends and gives you strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all your products across all your key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.
Privacy Statement
The first time you access the resource you will need to complete a brief registration form. Please use your University email address when registering.

Referencing tips: Market research and company reports

Use the reference builder for reports.
You need to reference the author, year, report title, and URL. e.g. Mintel. (2023). Sustainability in food – UK – 2023. https://www.mintel.com
The author is often the name of the resource, e.g. FAME, Mintel. The author of Passport (if no named author) is EuroMonitor. The author of Business Source Complete reports varies - company and industry profiles are often by MarketLine.
The year can usually be found near the title of the report. Check this is up-to-date enough for your needs before using. For statistical data taken from FAME/Orbis VL/Passport, use the current year.

Bitesize business databases

There have been some changes to the Passport interface since we produced Bitesize Passport. See the video below or the Passport help pages for details or email library@hud.ac.uk for further support.

Changes to Passport interface video:

Subject guides

Management & Business: Company information

Company & financial information