LibGuides: Students on Distance Learning Courses: Databases

LinkedIn Learning

All students, staff and researchers can access free online learning courses on LinkedIn Learning. You could take a range of courses to develop your personal, professional, technical or creative skills. You can even add certifications to your LinkedIn profile to show to potential employers after university!

See our guide to LinkedIn Learning for more information about how to register.

Statistics

Statista
The renowned statistics database is well-known and acknowledged throughout the world as basis for fast and comprehensive search for numbers, data, and facts. Explore the whole world through numbers with Statista

Accessibility Statement
UK National Statistics
Recent and upcoming official statistics published by the UK Government. You can search by publishing department (e.g. Department of Health), or by topic.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online, with over a million tracks of classical, jazz, world, and folk music.
Please note: this resource permits up to 10 users to access the site simultaneously.

Access is also available via optional mobile app.
Accessibility Statement
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Literature and poetry, best sellers and classics from medieval times to the twenty-first century; many original productions supplement a range of non-fiction; a variety of unabridged and skilfully abridged audiobooks.
Please note: this resource permits up to 3 users to access the site simultaneously.

Access is also available via optional mobile app.
Accessibility Statement

Digimap

Digimap
Digimap delivers Ordnance Survey maps and geospatial data, available either via download facilities for use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online. The mapping tool (Roam) allows users to view and print maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales as well as enabling the user to specify a map scale, area and content.

Accessibility Statement

British Library Sounds

British Library Sounds
Please note: Access to the British Library Sounds website is currently unavailable, as a result of a cyber-attack at the British Library. There is further information available here: Cyber incident update.

This British Library collection includes recordings from the world of music, drama, literature, oral history, and wildlife.

Accessibility Statement
Privacy Statement

BBC Shakespeare Archive

BBC Shakespeare Archive
Over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets.

Oxford Reference Materials

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The national record of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.

Accessibility Statement
Oxford English Dictionary
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both past and present.

Accessibility Statement

Accessing Databases

As a distance learning student you will have access to a wide range of our databases, not just books, journal articles and newspapers, but a wide range of specialist resources too. There are a variety of ways to access them, which we will detail here.

Library Search is the best place to start your search for relevant online information sources, as it links to many of our electronic resources, including ebooks and electronic journal articles.

The Library Subject Guides contain helpful links and information on subject specific databases and other resources.

Our A-Z of Databases gives a full and comprehensive list of the electronic databases to which the University Library subscribes. A small number of these may not be accessible to you as a distance learner due to supplier restrictions, but the vast majority are. We list a few of the most popular ones below, but there are many more.

EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform providing access to a comprehensive range of databases from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases including:

Business Source Complete: covers management, marketing, finance, accounting, economics and international business and provides access to articles, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Business

Computing and Engineering

CINAHL: a huge collection of citations and articles specifically focusing on nursing and allied health content.
Human & Health Sciences

Education Abstracts: provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983.
Education

ProQuest provides a cross searchable collection of resources with access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and other publications in a number of databases including:

ABI/INFORM: thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, research reports, and downloadable data.
Business

Art, Design and Architecture Collection: comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including architecture, interior design, contemporary art, and photography.
Arts and Humanities

Computing and Engineering

PsycINFO: systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
Applied Sciences

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Applied Sciences

Arts and Humanities

Business

Computing and Engineering

Education

Human & Health Sciences