Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services for studying online [COVID-19]
*STUDYING ONLINE - COVID-19 SUPPORT*
In addition to this guide, please see our guide to Library Services for Studying Online, which will help you to effectively use our online services.
For the latest information on access to the Library building, computers and books, please see our COVID-19 FAQs.
Welcome to the Library guide for Pharmacy.
Are you looking for the latest information on resources? Here you will find details of the wealth of resources we provide access to in your subject area, pointers to other useful sources of information and where to go for further help and support.
Selected journals / news sites
Search for journal articles on Summon or check out the Journals A-Z list to see if we have a subscription. Here are two additional resources available on the web:
Chemist & Druggist
News and information service aimed at community pharmacists from the publishers of "Chemist & Druggist".
Including access to articles published in the Pharmaceutical Journal and Clinical Pharmacist. Free to student members of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.
Specialist journals databases
Add to the results you've identified on Summon by using these specialist journal databases to find quality articles for your assignments. The following databases provide details of relevant journal articles (usually including an abstract) and in some cases may also provide a link to the article itself.
For a full list of databases see our A-Z list of electronic resources.
a huge collection of citations and articles focussing on nursing and allied health. Please note that CINAHL uses American terminology/spelling, so you may need to revise your spelling.
primarily a collection of systematic reviews (frequently with 'plain language' summaries of the content!), but also containing research papers, Cochrane provides an extensive reliable, rigorously checked collection of materials for evidence based practice.
Contains over 21 million references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
Includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PubChem covers around 25 million chemical substances.
Includes details of articles which have not yet been included in the full version of Medline. Many of these PreMedline articles don't have abstracts, but this is one of the most up to date biomedical databases available. It also includes some links from references to full-text journals.
SciFinder is an international database of journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database. Subject coverage includes pharmacy, pharmacology and medicine. IMPORTANT - First time users will need to register to obtain personal login details to access Scifinder via this link: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=FD1BCA35X86F350ABX725221FB31B2E5FB02
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.
Includes access to TOXLINE, listing references to articles in international toxicology journals.
Use these in your assignments to find professional data and regulations, alongside the academically published material:
With global coverage, Espacenet offers access to information about inventions, patents and technical developments from 1836 to present.
The website of the European Commission's Directorate for public health and risk assessment.
It provides information on policies and decisions taken at European, national and international level to protect Europeans' health by enabling them to make healthy choices and live healthier lives.
For health experts, the site also links to databases of public health statistics.
The Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency regulates medicines, medical devices and blood components for transfusion in the UK.
MHRA is an executive agency, sponsored by the Department of Health and Social Care.
The NEWT Guidelines is a unique resource which aims to provide prescribers and other healthcare professionals with a single point of reference which draws together the available information relating to medicines management in patients with enteral feeding tubes or swallowing difficulties, and presents it in a practical fashion.
NHS Digital has responsibility for standardising, collecting and publishing data and information from across the health and social care system in England.
NICE Evidence Search
Provides access to selected, quality health and social care evidence and best practice. The site also provides access to NICE Pathways, an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products in a set of interactive topic-based diagrams.
OTC Directory Online
Provides healthcare professionals, including GPs, practice nurses and pharmacists, with a detailed guide to the consumer healthcare products that are available in the UK without a prescription.
It is intended to help with recommending suitable products to patients, encouraging self care for self-treatable conditions and providing information on how to use OTC products safely.
Public Health England - PHE data & analysis
Public Health England (PHE) provides many data and analysis tools and resources for public health professionals. The PHE data and knowledge gateway provides direct access to these resources.
Specialist Pharmacy Service
Part of the NHS. Joins together experts to create a source of impartial advice for pharmacists, GPs and clinicians to use free of charge.
Recent book purchases
The following titles have recently been added to the University of Huddersfield Library collection: