Skip to main content

Subject guides

Media, Journalism and Film: Home

A library guide to support the study of media, journalism and film

Support for studying at home [COVID-19]

*IMPORTANT NOTICE* 

In addition to this library guide for your subject, please see our Library Guide to Services for Studying at Home. These pages have been created to help you to use library services online whilst the physical University Library has restricted opening hours as part of the national emergency response to COVID-19.

Keep in touch with the latest news about the Library here.

Introduction

This is a library guide for students studying Media, Journalism and Film.

Understanding Mass Media and Mass Communication

Here you will find resources related to this subject area and guidance on literature searching.

General Resources

ProQuest Ebook Central

Our biggest collection of Electronic books, Ebook Central, lets you search for titles on your subject area, view the full text online and copy and print out extracts.  Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.

 

International Newsstream (ProQuest)

International Newsstream provides information from the world's top new resources. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly which means that there is detailed information on sports, business and the arts as well as the top news stories of the day. Citations and abstracts are available for all articles.

Jisc Library Hub Discover (formerly COPAC)

Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries. This new service replaces Copac and SUNCAT, providing access to a growing range of library catalogues, with a new interface style and updated search facilities, with more changes in the pipeline. It is a well regarded and trusted source. It can help you to verify bibliographic information and find rare and unique material. Jisc Library Hub Discover doesn't have any resources itself so you may have to use the Inter-library loans service to obtain items that you find listed here.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a trusted online digital library of over 1,000 academic journals, books and primary sources on a variety of subjects.‚Äč

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.

Oxford English Dictionary

A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both past and present.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together 2 million digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Compnaions and Encyclopedias. It includes 25 subject areas with over 69,000 entries on music.

Scopus

A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from more than 18,500 journals.

Subject Guide

Quick Links