LibGuides: Law: Legal history

Databases

HeinOnline Legal Classics
Thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin N. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.

British Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th century through to the early 21st.
Accessibility Statement
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as the 'Artstor on JSTOR' collection of images and media.
Accessibility Statement
PAO - Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Accessibility Statement
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A library of digital humanities and social sciences content; includes journals and books on film, theatre, and performing arts. [NB: Recent content may not appear in Library Search but can be accessed through the database itself.
Accessibility Statement

UK Paliamentary Papers
Bills and Acts 1695-2004
Command Papers 1833-2004
House of Commons Papers 1715-2004
House of Lords Papers 1714-1805
Hansard 1803-2005
Journals 1688-1834
Debates 1774-1805
Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743
Historic Hansard
This site has been produced from digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. This was part of a project led by the Commons and Lords libraries.

Law and History

This page of the Law Subject Guide provides information about law and history resources. Links are provided to useful online resources for this topic.

Legislation

Early English Laws
Early English Laws is a project to publish online and in print new editions and translations of all English legal codes, edicts, and treatises produced up to the time of Magna Carta 1215.

Useful Journal titles

Reference Materials

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both past and present.
Accessibility Statement

Subject guides

Law: Legal history

Databases

Law and History

Legislation

Useful Journal titles

Reference Materials