Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject guides

Open Access: Read & Publish Deals

A guide to Open Access at the University of Huddersfield

Read & Publish Deals

The University has signed up to a number of open access agreements with publishers which give researchers a range of benefits and discounts on Article Processing Charges (APCs). Sometimes called 'Read and Publish'; 'Transformative' or 'Transitional', the open access publishing costs in these agreements becomes part of an overall University of Huddersfield payment covering both subscriptions (Read) and open access publishing (Publish).

Read and publish (R&P) agreements seek to transition spend from paying for paywalled/subscription access to pay for reading and open access (OA) publishing services.

Some agreements offer unlimited ‘read and publish’ in all hybrid and OA journals ... whereas others offer a capped number of OA articles in subscription journals (e.g. Springer Compact. In the case of the Wiley agreement, a fund is drawn down from on a first come, first served basis covering Wiley’s entire portfolio. (JISC, 2021.)

Please see below for more information about our individual agreements or try our new Journal search tool to identify journals that allow you to publish your articles Open Access without requiring further payment:

For UKRI funded articles, please ontact oa@hud.ac.uk to check if the journal is funder-compliant.

Publisher Description Useful links
American Chemical Society (ACS)

The 2022-24 Transitional Agreement with the ACS will enable corresponding authors affiliated to the University of Huddersfield to publish their research in any of the ACS titles. This unlimited Read and Publish agreement includes publishing in all hybrid and fully OA titles.

To be eligible under this agreement:

  • The author must be the submitting corresponding author and affiliated with the University of Huddersfield
  • Use an affiliated university email address and select the 'University of Huddersfield' from the drop-down box.
  • Confirm that the institutional affiliation stated in the body of the manuscript is the corresponding author’s affiliation.
BMJ

The BMJ open access agreement covers the publishing fees in any of the participating journals from BMJ’s Standard Collection for corresponding authors affiliated to the University of Huddersfield who publish original articles based on primary research funded by one of the following:

  • UKRI
  • Wellcome Trust
  • British Heart Foundation
  • Blood Cancer UK
  • Cancer Research UK
  • Parkinsons UK
  • Versus Arthritis

Please note: Fully gold open access journals are not included in this agreement

Cambridge University Press (CUP)

If you are a corresponding author at the University of Huddersfield, you can publish your article Open Access (OA) - at no cost to you - in Cambridge University Press Gold and Hybrid journals.

To be eligible, articles must:

  • Have a corresponding author affiliated with the University of Huddersfield
  • Be original research – eligible article types are research articles, review articles and rapid communications, brief reports and case reports.
  • Be accepted for publication in a Cambridge University Press journal covered by the agreement. 
Elsevier

The Elsevier-UK Institutions Agreement provides unlimited open access publishing to UK authors in Elsevier's hybrid journals including the Cell Press and Lancet titles.

To be eligible under this agreement:

  • The author must be the submitting corresponding author and affiliated with the University of Huddersfield
  • Articles must have an acceptance date between 1.1.2022 and 31.12.2024
  • The article type must be one of the following: Research and Review articles / Case Reports / Data in Brief / Microarticle / Original Software Publication / Protocol / Replication Study / Short Communication / Short Survey / Video Article / Practice Guideline. For The Lancet and Cell Press titles some exceptions apply. 

Please note:

  • When publishing in eligible hybrid Cell Press journals, review articles and short survey article types are not eligible.
  • When publishing in eligible journals from The Lancet, full length articles are the only eligible article type.
  • Fully gold open access journals are not included in this agreement
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC

The agreement with the Royal Society of Chemistry allows corresponding authors affiliated with the University of Huddersfield to publish free of charge in any RSC journal that has been classed as a Hybrid (the exceptions are Chemical Science, RSC Advances, Nanoscale Advances, RSC Chemical Biology, Materials Advances and Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP).

To be eligible, please ensure that you:

  • Are listed as the corresponding author in both the online submission system and in your manuscript
  • Use your University of Huddersfield email address when submitting your manuscript
  • State your institute affiliation and email address in your manuscript and do not change this after submission;
  • DO NOT sign the standard licence to publish during the submission process, you should fill out an open access CC-BY licence which will trigger the open access publication of the article under this agreement

Please note: Fully gold open access journals are not included in this agreement

 
Sage

The agreement with Sage covers the open access article processing charges (APCs) for corresponding authors affiliated to the University of Huddersfield to publish an article in 900+ subscription journals in the current SAGE Premier package, as well as in the IMechE Journal Collection and the Royal Society of Medicine Collection, which offer hybrid open access publishing (SAGE Choice)

To be eligible under the terms of this agreement:

  • The corresponding author must be a staff member or student at the University of Huddersfield, at the time of submission
  • The article enters production (post acceptance) between the 1st of January 2020 and 31st of December 2022.
  • The journal is part of the subscribed collections
  • The article is “Article type” (some commercially sponsored articles, invited articles, book reviews and other content types are excluded)
  • Authors accept the offer within 2 weeks of being contacted.

Please note: Fully gold open access journals are not included in this agreement

Springer

Our current Springer Compact agreement expired on the 31st of December 2022 and negotiations are still ongoing with JISC regarding a new agreement for 2023. Please see here for more information: https://www.jisc.ac.uk/springer-nature-negotiations

Please email openaccess@hud.ac.uk if you have any questions relating to publishing in Springer Nature.

 
Taylor & Francis

Corresponding authors affiliated with the University of Huddersfield are eligible to publish open access (OA) in Taylor & Francis and Routledge Open Select (hybrid) journals at no cost to themselves.

To be eligible, articles must:

  • Be original research articles. Other types of paper, such as Editorials, Announcements, and Book Reviews, are not covered by this agreement.
  • Be accepted for publication after the 1st January 2021.
  • Have a corresponding author affiliated with the University of Huddersfield

Please note: Fully gold open access journals are not included in this agreement

Wiley

Corresponding authors affiliated with the University of Huddersfield may publish primary research and review articles in any of Wiley or Hindawi's fully gold open access and hybrid (subscription-based) journals 

To be eligible under the terms of this agreement:

  • Your manuscript must have been accepted on or after 1 January 2023 if submitting to a hybrid journal
  • Your manuscript must have been submitted on or after 1 January 2023 if submitting to a fully gold open access journal
  • You must be the responsible corresponding author who is affiliated with the University of Huddersfield
  • You must publish open access in a Wiley or Hindawi fully gold open access journal or a Wiley hybrid (subscription) journal that offers open access
  • Your article must be primary research or a review article
  • If publishing in a hybrid (subscription) journal, you must order open access at the point of acceptance by using this order workflow 

Please note: This agreement cannot be used to cover additional charges (e.g. cover, color, and page charges), which individual journals administer separately

Contact details

Please contact the Library Subscriptions and Access Team on openaccess@hud.ac.uk if you have any queries about articles that will be sent to these publishers.