Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject guides

Open Access: Finding Open Access Content

A guide to Open Access at the University of Huddersfield

Accessing resources

Trying to access journal articles and other research publications off-campus? Do you keep hitting paywalls? 

Access Summon using your University of Huddersfield details to see if we have subscription access.

If the Library does not have a subscription to the journal you can try searching for an Open Access version of the article using some of the tools below. 

OA Button

Go to the Open Access Button website to search for millions of articles by title, citation, URL, or DOI. The browser extension will automatically search for a free pdf of any article you view online. 

If Open Access Button cannot find a pdf of the article it requests a copy directly from the author. 

                                  

Google Scholar Button

The Google Scholar Button browser extension provides easy access to the entire Google Scholar database from any web page, not just journal webpages.

Google Scholar Button will also check to see if there is a full-text copy of an article in the Library catalogue. 

       undefined

Unpaywall

The Unpaywall browser extension provides free access to over 25 million scholarly articles harvested from over 50,000 publishers and repositories. 

When you view an article on a journal website Unpaywall searches through its database of online sources for a freely accessible version of the article, even if it's behind a paywall.

 

 

                          

Core Discovery

CORE Discovery harvests repositories and journal websites to create the world's biggest database of open access research articles. The CORE Discovery browser extension provides one-click access to a free, full-text version of a journal article. 

CORE Discovery searches for articles in its own database and thousands of external sources.

 

 

undefined

Libkey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Brave and Vivaldi that provides single click access to library content from publisher websites, PubMed, Wikipedia and more.

To get started:

1. Go to: www.LibKeyNomad.com

2. Click on the appropriate browser icon

3. Search for and select 'University of Huddersfield' from the dropdown menu

4. Look for the 'Nomad' button when browsing publisher websites

Libkey Nomad

Directory of Open Access Books

Online Library and Publication Platform | Directory of Open Access Books (doabooks.org)

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.

 

Open DOAR

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) can be used to search through thousands of open access repositories at once.

To be included in OpenDOAR, repositories must meet a set of criteria that ensures open access to reliable, quality research material from across the globe. 

 

undefined

Summon search